Tranquility


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Klamath Falls
August 17th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Rocky Point, Klamath Lake


Evening venturersEvening venturersEvening venturers

Our first night here we enjoyed the view over gin and tonics from the restaurant porch.
August 14-15: Rocky Point, on the western edge of Klamath Lake.
This place is so peaceful, so calm, such a balm to the eyes. The colors are so---I couldn't think of the right words. “Like a Bonnie Griffith painting”, said Phil. Yes.
Thank you sooooo much, Cathy, for telling me about this place, I'm sure I would never have happened upon it.
Canoeing is one of my most favorite activities...And we saw many birds close up, including pelicans, various ducks, grebes, red-winged blackbirds, a great blue heron, a bald eagle, and many more we couldn't name. Also lots of fish beneath the water.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Waterside restaurantWaterside restaurant
Waterside restaurant

"Every table is on the water"
Ducklings see usDucklings see us
Ducklings see us

"Oh dear, Mum, what should we do?"
"Follow me, littlies.""Follow me, littlies."
"Follow me, littlies."

The grebe isn't worried--yet.
Water flowersWater flowers
Water flowers

Opening with the rising sun
Martha bows to the momentMartha bows to the moment
Martha bows to the moment

One of my favorite things!
There's oneThere's one
There's one

who hears a different drummer.
Stellar JayStellar Jay
Stellar Jay

Our campsite companion
A plenary of pelicans in the eveningA plenary of pelicans in the evening
A plenary of pelicans in the evening

A wonderful bird is the pelican. His beak can hold more than his belly can.
Three's a crowd?Three's a crowd?
Three's a crowd?

Apparently not here.
2nd evening glory2nd evening glory
2nd evening glory

Colors like a Bonnie Griffith painting.
Chipmunk? No way!Chipmunk? No way!
Chipmunk? No way!

We learned at the High Desert Museum how to tell that this is a golden-caped ground squirrel--see, it has no stripes on its snout.
Pensive morningPensive morning
Pensive morning

Sitting by the water's edge--such peacefulness.
Water striders as personal symbolsWater striders as personal symbols
Water striders as personal symbols

In 1972, after I had been in Australia many months, I visualized my situation, and I felt I was like a water strider: I was THERE, in touch with Australia, but not OF Australia.
Some time later...Some time later...
Some time later...

I visualized again, and I felt I was more immersed in the culture and life of Australia.
There's oneThere's one
There's one

who hears a different drummer.


17th August 2010

Love the water strider reference! Beautiful job on your blog!
17th August 2010

What a coincidence!!
Fancy you going to Klamath Lake!! You probably won't remember but on our 2008 'round the world spending some of the kids inheritance' trip we spent a night at the Ravenswood Motel, Klamath on our way to visit you in Portland - see my travelblog "Wed 14 May - Adventures on the road" - hence I'm excited!!! M xx
17th August 2010

beautiful photos! Looks like you two are having fun!
17th August 2010

messing about in
Loved Phil rowing but he wasn't as beautiful as the other photos, sorry Phil.
19th August 2010

Great Photos
Hello Martha and Phil, I like the nature very much. You pics are truly beautiful. There you're no doubt in your element, happy as birds! Take care. Love. Sonia
22nd August 2010

Thanks Martha
Thanks so much for this blog Martha. I must learn to do blogs. BUT... at the moment it's almost COMP time again for Canberra Video club so must get back to work on that. Hope to catch up sometime soon. Love from us both Jennie Thomas and David Young Canberra

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb