Making the cut... or not?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Two rounds down in Oklahoma, lets hope there are two more. I shot rounds of 72 yesterday and 68 today. Currently it is up in the air whether I will make the cut or not. It is hard to imagine shooting 4 under for two days and possibly making the cut, but I guess that’s how it goes some weeks.
Yesterday’s 72 was a very good ball striking day and not a very good putting day. I believe I hit 14 greens but only had 2 birdies to show for it. Throw in a couple of bad bogies and you have 72, T-99th. It was just one of those days where I could not get anything going at all, but as good as I hit the ball I really did not feel bad about my round.
This morning I teed off at 8:51 and played a very solid round of golf. I made 4 birdies and 14 pars, no bogies for the first time in a while. That’s what really excited me about my round. I don’t care if the golf course is not hard or what, I love playing bogey free golf. My problem out here lately is that I have been throwing away too many shots with senseless bogies. To finally go through a round without one out here is a good step for me. I feel it is more about losing my focus for a shot or two than anything technical.
Once again today I hit the ball really well. I did not make quite as many birdies as I would have like, but who ever makes as many as they want too. I mean, I would love to birdie every hole but I am sure if I did that I would want to make an eagle. I guess you could say I will never be satisfied with a round of golf, but I guess that’s what keeps you coming back for more, wanting to play that perfect round. So for today I birdied 6, 8, 11, and 15. A really solid round with a lot of other birdie chances and a couple of real good sand saves.
I guess I will find out if I make the cut later tonight and after that it is either heading back to Auburn all day tomorrow or it will be a marathon of a Sunday. I suspect it will take me somewhere between 12 and 13 hours to get back so, yeah, not looking forward to that one for on second.
Not much life out here except for golf. I have caught up on my movies and my gambling in the past few weeks that’s for sure. I have seen Ocean’s 13 (very good), Mr. Brooks (great), and Knocked Up (very funny). I have also played more blackjack than any human in the last 3 weeks and done quite well.
Hope everything is great wherever you may be. I look forward to getting back home and getting some rest in my own bed. Oh and if you want to follow the action the webpage is www.hooterstour.com.

Living the dream,

Stu


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb