Tulsa and Oklahoma City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Oklahoma City
November 7th 2016
Published: March 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

On my way to Oklahoma City I stopped in Tulsa to visit the Will Rogers Museum. He was a stage and motion picture actor, an American cowboy, humorist, newspaper columnist, and known as Oklahoma's Favorite Son. He was born to a prominent Cherokee Nation family in the Indian Territory in 1879. American people adored him and were crushed when he was killed in a plane crash in Northern Alaska in 1935. He traveled around the world three times and gave first hand accounts to the American people. Great displays and very interesting memorial to a beloved man.

Then it was off to Oklahoma City to see my beautiful granddaughter Carson at Oklahoma Christian. She took me on a tour of the campus, I quizzed her for her Anatomy test the next day, we ate pizza in her dorm room and got to see her perform in a musical concert. It was wonderful to see her as it had been quite a while. I visited the Oklahoma City Memorial which was sober, beautiful, tragic and thought provoking. It is a memorial for an event that changed all of our lives in many ways. It is very well done and a must see. Another interesting site is Bricktown Canal park which is home to the bronzes that depict the Centennial Land Run that happened in 1889. There are 45 figures in bronze frozen in motion as they race to claim new homesteads for their future homes. The park is beautiful and I am sure a favorite for joggers or walkers on warm days.

I got to spend a few more hours with Carson one evening and she introduced me to her favorite drink, "bubble tea". I will get to see more of her this summer hopefully as I sure love that wonderful young lady. Time to head to Arkansas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb