a quick stop in Okee


Advertisement
Published: May 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

all the way to Okee

half way to Prescott/Phoenix

shreddedshreddedshredded

bummer

all the way to Okee
Matt Edwards
I'm sitting in a public library in Midwest, OK, which is just outside of Oklahoma City. Long day so far, much driving still ahead. Got absorbed in music and forgot to look at the fuel guage; noticed the little red warning light 5 miles before an exit and ran out a mile or so short. Argh! Took advantage of the opportunity for excercise and started jogging, but was quickly thwarted in that plan by a kind couple who picked me up and drove me to the gas station. Bought a gas can (a donation for Daniel's car) and they actually drove me back as well! Nice folks. Found out they were heading to Kentucky soon for some kind of missionary work in a few small towns.

Yesterday was long-- got a flat just outside Bowling Green. Er well, flat is not the right word. The tire appeared as if it had gone through some sort of large meat grinder. Scary, because I was in a construction zone and couldn't take the median because of the temporary concrete walls. Eventually got AAA help to put on my spare-- (Where the heck is the jack on a 92 volvo 740?! couldn't
bridgebridgebridge

crossin ye ole missassippa river
find it for the life of me). Stopped at the next exit where I was told Walmart could help me. Went there and they didn't have whatever obscure size of tire this is. So I got directions down the road to a tire place that happened to have one option in stock. Anyhoo, that's over.

I finally made it to Little Rock where I stayed the night in the outskirts-- parked at about 2 AM in an empty parking lot of a Mexican restaurant that wouldn't be opening until 10. Only was able to sleep about 4 hours, but after a little while on the road I got sleepy again and found a spot to nap at an overlook off the side of the highway. Found some neat wildflowers in the woods there amongst the cedars and pines. It's interesting to watch the vegetation slowly change as I move westward. Some things stay the same though- wild garlic was abouning, as in KY, and I found a large healthy specimen of yellow dock (which is ubiquitous around Louisville this time of year) thriving right by the sidewalk.

I hope you all are doing well back home. Tell me
little rocklittle rocklittle rock

little rock, AK from above at night (slaps knee)
if any of you went to the derby parade-- I'd like to hear about a particular float, the one for Sustainable Louisville. I met the man who started Sustainable Louisville at an earth day event at the falls of the Ohio, and ended up helping out a little bit getting the float together. You'd know it if you saw it- big smiling yellow sun on the back, lots of people in crazy costumes, a crow, a coyote, robin hood, the green man, and others-- they're supposed to all be modeled after trickster figures from various cultures. I was bummed not to be in town to see the finished product.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

river overlookriver overlook
river overlook

A scenic overlook and a nice place to nap and boil up some tea
yelllow dockyelllow dock
yelllow dock

yellow dock grows here too!
wildflowerwildflower
wildflower

don't know this little feller from KY


17th July 2007

What Happened?
So, where are you, Matt? What are you doing, Matt? How is it going, Matt? Have you passed Venus or Mars? Avoid big Black Holes at all costs. Keep safe. Homesick Alien #2

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb