Preparing for a pilgrimage


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Edmond
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to my online journal of my travels through China on a People-To-People Pilgrimage with Division of Overseas Ministries with the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Follow my journey from my doorstep "to the end of the earth" (Acts 1:8).

What is a People-to-People Pilgrimage?
"A People-to-People Pilgrimage is an exciting adventure, not only for those who participate in the pilgrimage, but for the entire congregation. The experience is contagious and may result in a revitalization of your congregation. Global Ministries has as its priority and emphasis on Critical Presence" which is understood as meeting God's people and creation at the point of deepest need:spiritually, physically, emotionally, and/or economically. A People-to-People Pilgrimage provides opportunities for individuals to participate in a ministry of critical presence by visiting with and accompanying our overseas partner churches in a particular project.
David Vargas, President of the Division of Overseas Ministries and Co-Executive of Global Ministries, shared with a gathering of mission interpreters that 'the most difficult challenge we face these days is the indifference, negative attitudes, misunderstandings, lack of information, frustrations, barriers and other realities we encounter as we try to interpret among our congregations and constituency groups what is our understanding of God's call to 'share life in Christ' to the ends of the earth; what we mean by 'global sharing of resources'; and what we believe is a true 'prophetic vision of a just, sustainable, and peaceful world order, joining with God's concern for the poor and the oppressed.'"
-From the Global Ministries Mission Pilgrimage Journal

I may not be able to update my journal while I am gone, I will be keeping a journal of my travels and experiences and will update whenever I can and when I get back.

Thank you for your prayers, thoughts, and I love as I embark on this journey.

Grace and Peace,
Tara L. Thompson

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb