Dealing with Batteries


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Black Mesa
June 26th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The adventures just keep on rollin’ in. So after coming down on the poor city of Guymon and Wal-Mart yesterday, here I have to eat my words.
I first got a Trader Joe’s paper sack, cut some eye holes in it, then put it over my head and headed on into the dreaded store. One must admit that while other stores in the area are a little drab, this store is clean and modern. Too Bad. But I went in anyway.
The reason? Let me give you some background.
As I’ve written before I’m living in my RV. The 5th wheel runs off battery, propane and electricity. The interior lights, except for the light over the dinette all run off battery. My understanding is that the fridge and AC also need battery power for the ignition but can run off battery or electricity. The RV has a converter built in that runs off electricity and will charge the batteries when they get low when we are plugged into electricity.
Well I realized a couple of days ago that the lights in the RV were getting dim, like really dim. I then also realized that the converter wasn’t running at all.
When I got in from inspections today it was about 100 F but the AC didn’t kick on when I turned it on. I checked the lights and they barely were on so I thought that maybe I was out of propane. I checked the cook top and gas lit so it wasn’t the propane. Then I remembered about the battery.
I ran out and parked the truck by the plug and plugged the RV into the truck to charge the batteries. I came back in and called the RV repair at home, the only person we trust, Ed. Ed told me that the converter was bad so I needed to go to a Wal-Mart and pick up a battery charger and extension cord then charge the batteries that way. That would be a cheap fix until I could get home.
Hence, the trip to Wal-Mart. I did go in and purchase the items needed to keep me going. I swallowed my pride and ego, but just a little. I still have lots more pride and ego!
I came back to the RV and our man Ed walked me thru hooking everything up. Now I find that the batteries are bad so I may need to get some new ones. Problem is Dale said I can’t lift them. Hope to keep these going until Monday when I can get out of here. If I go to Oklahoma to visit family quick then I’ll have a cousin help me out.
Fortunately it is nice in the evening so I don’t need the AC and as for lights well I’m working with flashlights and computer screens for light.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb