Small towns


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Black Mesa
June 25th 2009
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My claims are in the panhandle area of Oklahoma and southwest Kansas for now. I live in an RV park in the panhandle, a little town called Guymon, Ok.

The RV park has farm land on 2 sides and a couple of houses to the west. We are on a main road over which probably 50 vehicles travel a day. Across the street is more farmland. The farmland is more for cattle than anything else. I saw about 8 cows today in the field. Everything is flat and very few trees anywhere.

This area is interesting to me. Most of you know that I was born and raised in L.A., graduated from Cal State L.A. I’m just a city girl who still loves the “big” city. So when Dale and I took over the family farm in Shafter it was quite a shock to move to a small town. But the small town was only 2 hours from L.A. and 4 hours from San Francisco so I could survive even though I hated the small town mentality.

Here most people in surrounding towns have heard of Guymon. Funny, I look at the place and wonder why anyone would live here. The town is really a sad town in a way; stores, like in many places, have closed up. The stores that are left are the “Dollar Stores” and stores that sell stuff that I can’t imagine who’d buy it. There are only a couple of grocery stores but there is the Walmart. I’m guessing that Walmart has done what they have done in so many cities; chase out all of the little guys then go in and take over. Those of you who know me well know that I hate Walmart for the way they treat the women and their business practices. I refuse to shop there except that there is almost nowhere else to shop.

I’ve driven around most of the little towns here now and find that houses are also just sad looking, older, in need of some TLC.

The alcohol rules are so crazy too. I’ve never had to live with them before and wouldn’t you know I only brought 2 bottles of wine along. Usually I bring at least 1 case but this time I was in a hurry and didn’t think ahead. There is virtually no selection and tax upon tax has been added onto each bottle making them much more expensive than at home. GURR!

Thank goodness this storm isn’t big so I’ll be out of here soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb