Another animal bites the dust...RIP Brownie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yes...as u can see, another animal has decided that living was perhaps not for them and died. This time it was the guinea pig, Brownie. Pretty sure that she overheated as it has been especially hot over the past few days. Didnt really get a send off like a pet would get if i was back at home...instead it was a case of throwing it in the trashcan...not my idea...just following instructions!
Really hope that all the other animals make it through to the end of this camp session. I mean it wasnt my fault that this guinea pig died but it doesnt do much for the soul when u have animals dyin when ur meant to be responsible for them.

Havent been feeling the best ever over the past few days. Feel like ive taken a few steps back. My moods are pretty much always misrable and im not really hugely fun to be around. My 2nd day of break i think i cried for the majoirty of it and i didnt even know entriely why. It was rather hot, i was tired and hungry as well as missing ma best m8s bday but i guess i thought i could deal with that stuff better than i did. Was either crying, moping around or beating myself up. Think i spent an hour just walking round camp talking to myself outloud...really must av looked insane. Also played in the playgrounds by myself which also looked a bit mad.
This went on for a while until one of the people who im closer to arrived back after leaving the camp for a bit and gave me a little pep talk. Most people were just hugging me for a few mins, putting it down to being sick and leaving it there but he actually stayed with me until i was smiling and talking without crying or looking sad. He said that i was the reason which he has managed to stay so long at this camp, guess if my encouragements have got someone this far than ive helped out more in the camp than i thought! Was nice to hear some positive feedback. I mean sometimes it feels like i give out so much encouragement and it is quite draining being so positive and complimentary towards other people when u feel so negative about urself but to see positive responces...it definitely helps!

The final kids camp has just started today.
The theme is Hollywood and it is for Service unit kids (which basically means Social Services). The nurses seem to be having a hard time at the moment, not only for the amount of 'friendly campers' we found (kids with lice) but also with the sheer amount of medication which the kids came with. They said that only about 20 kids if that came without medication...this is out of like 180 kids!

Things are starting to get a bit annoying now.
Had staff training yesterday which was meant to bring staff members together and really unite them before the last session but the amount of competiviteness and complaining may have sucked out a lot of the morale some people may have gained over the break which we had before. Basically we were divided into 4 teams and each team was a colour. Then we competed in a load of sports and a talent competition. We each had a cheer and a flag as well. As with any team thing, rivialry developed and everyone was concerned with how fair other teams were being treated compared to theirs especially when it meant points could be gained. Man i dont think ive heard so much complaining in so long...it was so draining just being in the prescence of most people. I have a headache just thinking about it.
Not a great sport person and dont have a talent which i can perform on stage so i wasnt loving it. The team which i was in (blue) didnt win but came 2nd which was a miracle since the majority of our team were neither sport or talent able. Just glad it is over to be honest!

Some of the staff are wearing on me at the moment as well. There are quite a few complainers and quite a few attention seekers...neither of which i can really stand for. My policy with complaining is pretty much keep it to urself and deal with it rather than dwelling on it and attention seekers are usually selfish and possible shallow in my eyes. Dont get me wrong...its not just the americans which are guilty of either of these...its just there are a lot more of them. For some reason im just seeing a lot of people through different eyes now. I need a break...not just a day but a week...i wish Las Vegas was now.

Taking care of the aminals is also wearing me down a bit...responsibility...it has been a while! Looking forward to uni when i just have to look after myself and not have to clean up anymore animals!

Anyhoo...rant over!
Things arent too bad. I am enjoying myself and looking 4ward to Hollywood week...saw them put up a Hollywood sign before which looked cool! Should be fun. Is the last camper week so shall have to make this camp extra special!
Positive thinking people...positive thinking!

Aparently if u fake laugh for 15 seconds u acutally start laughing...might start doing that each morning or something....may look insane but it will cheer me up!

Have also said that i ned to pay $1 everytime i say something negative so have definitely got to start being outwardly positive!

Missing u all loads and looking 4ward to seeing u soon!
Keep safe!
xxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



23rd July 2008

Hang in there!
HI Rachel.... I have been reading your travel blog since you started it (If I dont, granda tells me anyway!) and I think you are doing brilliantly....Course you are going to have your bad days...everything is magnified when you are away from home...but remember you are the first grandchild/cousin to do this, and everyone is so impressed!! The Morrison side of the family are routing for you..keep up the good work.
25th July 2008

Hehe am gonna have to try that laughter thing. It's probably cause laughter is contagious and you probably end up laughing at the fact you're laughing. Hehe that makes no sense but it cheered me up anyway. Chin up Rach, you'll be home soon! *hugs*
25th July 2008

Hellooooo =D
Hello there Miss Ra! Just caught up with the blogs! [I only had one to read! I've been doing well keeping up!] I think these animals you're having to look after are just to weak! GOSH! You'd think they'd try to live a bit more! ^_^ I can't believe you were told to throw it in the trashcan! >=o I suppose it's a quick way of getting rid of the body and not worrying about any kids digging it up later if it got burried! =D Aww I'm sad to hear that you feel you're mood is getting sad! =[ We all get sad sometimes and often it's hard to get happy again quickly, but try to think positive and look forward to Las Vegas and coming home! ^_^ But also look at the good points of being away from home and gaining confidence and being so very brave! =D 'Friendly Campers'!! Oh man what a thing to call them! Trying to make it sound all nice when really it's awful and they have LICE!!! ARGHHHH!!! The only good thing about that so called sports staff bonding thing is that you were in the blue team! Blue is a very good colour! =D Btw... Once tried that fake laughing thing and it kinda does work...unless you're really really upset and cant fake laugh for crying! ^_^ Well that's all I wanted to say for now... Oh and I hope you're taking care of yourself and having fun! I miss you very much back here and look forward to seeing you when you get back! Lots of hugs! Love from ME! xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb