December 31, 2014 TO YELLOWSTONE VIA THE WAY OF THE PERFECT BATHROOM


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Loveland
January 1st 2015
Published: January 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

I have been so blessed to be able to retire early from my career, and that my hubby, Jack and I have the freedom to pursue some new things. My kids, Rob (26) and Cass (21) have both moved out. We are FREE! For our first grand adventure, we have applied for jobs to live and work at Yellowstone National Park. So many friends and acquaintances have expressed interest in keeping up with us through this journey, I decided to try my hand at a simple blog (I forgot to say in my intro that I dreamed of being a writer also. Haha!). So here it is.



Our current status is:



We have applied, been interviewed, and submitted references. We also took a typing test which was required for the camper registration job I was interested in. First failure. I totally screwed up my typing test. Jack of course, aced his. Jerk. At the beginning of the year, we expect to finalize our job assignments and enter into an employment agreement with Xanterra, the group that manages campgrounds, etc for the National Park Service. I hope to work as a cashier in a general store type place, or could be assigned to shower and laundry facilities. Jack may work in camper registration or in maintenance. Guess we will see! The deal here is that we would work 30-40 hours a week for the season which would be between 4-6 months depending on the work site. Cost of our RV site is discounted and deducted from our pay, as is our metered electric. We get 2 consecutive days off per week together, plus some other perks.



We are looking to sell or trade our current RV and upgrade to something more liveable. That is our critical next step. Looking for a good, used class A motorhome! Jack and I focus on such different things, which is good, I guess, since I am focused on upholstery patterns and bathrooms. I am a fan of bathroom privacy. I hate the pass through bathroom and “toilet closet” floor plans of so many motorhomes. If I am going to live for several months in a 34 foot tin can, I want a place of privacy. I want to bathe, pick, squeeze, pluck, floss, brush, and etc. in an enclosed room (yes, I know that there are sliding or folding doors to block it off… but that is different). I don’t think that is too much to ask! But I am newly adventurous, right? If a pass through bathroom is necessary for the best home in every other way, bring it on! I am not afraid!



Happy New Year to all. I am so excited to start 2015! Jack and I will begin our new year with a prayer and footwashing service at our church this evening. No better way to usher in new beginnings than to seek the presence of the One who created us, has a perfect plan for us, and is the only source of true joy and purpose. Do you have a resolution? Instead of my usual “I will lose 50 pounds”, this year I hope only to daily make decisions in my life that honor God, and that I keep Him foremost in my thoughts. He will take care of the rest. May you and yours be richly blessed in the coming year!



Psalm 16:11



Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in Thy presence is fullness of joy: at Thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Advertisement



13th January 2015

December 31, 2014 to Yellowstone
Love your posts. You should have been a writer. Very good. Just one question though, can we see you and Jack in the picture without leaning our head sideways? Need to turn picture. Will keep watching and reading your blog!
13th January 2015

Sorry, Barb, I can't edit, rotate, or replace the photo! I am sure it is possible....but haven't figured it out yet. You will have to lean to the side....

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb