O-H-I Only one week left!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Columbus
February 9th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ohio really knows how to re-affirm my decision to get out of the midwest for the winter and head to the tropics of SE Asia!! Shovelling over a foot of snow is a little less of a pain in the butt when I realize the only thing I'll be shoveling next week is sand into a nice mound to rest my head on a beach in Bali.

So here is the rough itinerary for the first month of my trip:
2/15/10 depart Columbus Ohio 9am
2/17/10 arrive in Denpasar, Bali just after 12am
2/17-3/2 Bali
3/2 depart Denpasar, arrive Jakarta, Indonesia (for a quick overnight layover)
3/3 depart Jakarta, arrive in Saigon, Vietnam (aka HoChiMinh City)
3/3-3/7 Saigon, Vietnam
3/8 train ride from Saigon to Danang, Vietnam
3/8-3/11 Danang, Vietnam
3/12 depart Danang, fly to Hanoi Vietnam
3/12-3/18 Hanoi, Vietnam
3/18 depart Hanoi, fly to Bangkok, Thailand

...3/18-4/15 is still up in the air! Lots to see in Thailand, Laos, and Cambodia. I will keep you posted on the plans!

Getting that backpack packed was questionable at times...I had to downsize more than I expected, but I got all the essentials, plus a few "extras", all squeezed into that big pack!! (and a smaller backpack....and a purse...) Here are the basics of what I was able to fit:
2 pairs of pants (1 capri, 1 long)
2 pairs of shorts
5 tshirts
1 lightweight hoodie
bathing suits
1 pillow/blanket combo
1 big bag of shampoo/conditioner/soap/hairspray
travel towel
2 toiletry kits
flip flops
plug adapter
camera
e-book
ipod
journal

I'm looking forward to the rest of this week and lots of family time over the weekend!!

--Lori.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th February 2010

How Exciting!!!!!
Hi Lori, I see you are leaving on your birthday. Have a safe and wonderful trip. Can't wait to hear all about it.
10th February 2010

that's a whole lot of stuff!
Sounds like you had a packing success indeed. I'm anxious to feel how heavy your bag is... I'm so excited for you and your big adventure. I can't believe that you leave in less than a week! Take lots and lots of pictures to share with us when you get back. We'll see you tons this weekend!! Love you.
10th February 2010

Wow!
Lori Murphy!!!!! So jealous!! Bali!!!! Hey, isn't Lori Murphy going to be 30 in a few days? I'm so happy for you. I know you will have an amazing time. I look forward to reading about your adventure. Be careful not to be kidnapped & used for prostitution :) Enjoy the food!!! Yum yum Love ya!
17th February 2010

Happy Belated Birthday!
I hope you had a safe flight with your pack in tow and enjoyed celebrating the big xx en route to paradise :)
17th February 2010

Enjoy and stay SAFE!
I hope you enjoy every minute of this adventure BUT above all stay SAFE. I want to see you when you get back with all your wonderful stories. Take lots of pictures as you will enjoy them for the rest of your life. Love you.
18th February 2010

So What are You Doing Right Now??
So what are you doing right now?? Are there a lot of panda bears?? You would be proud, I am looking up all the places that you are going...Bali looks awesome!! Tom says that there will be toilets in the ground that you have to squat over, tell me if that is true..

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb