Week 2 - Library, Old Deaf School Park, ComFest, Etc.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Columbus
June 28th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now that I have my footing at work and am getting adjusted to the 8-5 work day (it really wore me out the first week!) I have really started getting out there and enjoying what the city has to offer. Here are some highlights from this week:


Columbus Library & Old Deaf School Park


On Wednesday, I headed down to check out the main branch of the Columbus Library. It was one of the neatest "working" libraries I have ever seen. I call it working, because it is there to meet the needs of the people who use it, not to be a museum or a show piece like some libraries can be. It was well laid out and full of people! Probably because it was 90 degrees outside, but what does it matter. As long as people are reading the world will be a better place :-)

Around the block from the library is the Old Deaf School Park (the Old Deaf School is there too...) The park is unique because it is a topiary garden modeled after George Seurat's Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte . It was an amazingly peaceful place in the middle of downtown. There were some people playing frisbee, walking their dogs, and just relaxing, but it was so quiet. The pictures aren't great- you need to be there in the morning for the sun to cooperate.


To BDubs and the Movies


Thursday night, I got together with some interns after work at the Buffalo Wild Wings down the street from the office. I got to meet some of the interns who started two weeks before me and catch up with some of the ones I went through training with. It seems everyone is having a good experience so far. I don't envy the logistics guys who are on second shift though!

After that, I met up with Ashley- one of my friends from high school who goes to OSU, to see the Hangover. It was absolutely hilarious and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys movies of the Old School/Wedding Crashers variety.


Pizza and Comfest


I ended the work week by using the new mini-pizza pans I got. I haven't gotten the crust perfected yet, but everything else was delicious 😊 I used chopped tomatoes, red & yellow peppers, red onion, minced garlic, and mexican cheese (mozz would have been better of course, but mexican is what I had on hand)

Then I took the bus down to ComFest (I knew parking would not be pleasant, and rather expensive). ComFest is short for Community Festival which began in 1972 and has gone on and grown ever since. It is held in Goodale Park, which is just outside of downtown. There were 6 stages for music (or what somebody calls music in some instances), hundreds of booths with people selling all kinds of stuff- from crafts to political causes, and thousands and thousands of people. The people watching was my favorite part. There were all kinds- from hippies (lots of them!) to older people who would be more at home on a golf course (probably were hippies the first time through). The carefree attitude most of the people had and their willingness to just be themselves was really refreshing.


So that brings us up to today, Saturday, which was also a busy day- but I'm going to wait to see what tomorrow brings and write about it all together. Builds a bit of suspense doesn't it?


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Ducks!Ducks!
Ducks!

See a theme yet?


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb