Japan baby!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Cleveland Area
August 19th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so now that I've finally got all my info I can write something up. There was considerable stress on my part as I got my visa THIS Tuesday. Oh yes, I leave on the 28th and I just then got my visa. Blargh to that. But it's all good now, and I'm nice and legal. So after the nightmares about my luggage being stolen by my father so I have no stuff and then at the airport realizing I have no passport or visa (yes, I did in fact have this exact nightmare) came the worrying about the host family.

You see, we were supposed to get all of this together, about 3 weeks before the program starts. That didn't happen. I got my COE about 2 weeks before and the final mailing on Monday. So it was 2 weeks. The final mailing only had a tentative schedule for classes, a map and instructions on what to do when we arrive. Nothing about host family. I did appreciate the instructions and whatnot, but really, it doesn't do me much good if I have no host family. Cue me waking up in the middle of the night seeing myself wandering the streets, until I remember Allison's host family said they'd host me. Go Hasegawa-tachi!

This morning, all of that was alleviated. I have a host family and it's all good. Although, I'm thinking some of it is odd. Sarah, you'll have to give me your opinion. So I am living with the Miyai family. The mom is 61, a housewife, named Kazuko. She looks like a sweetheart. 2 sons too, and they're not little kids! SOMEONE LOVES ME. The oldest, Tomonori, is 27 and lives on his own. The younger is 25, named Masato and still lives at home with Kazuko. Did you notice anything missing? Yeah, there's no father. Atypical, to say the least. Kazuko says she raised 2 sons, and there is no mention of a father at all. He's not in the family photo, so I think that rules out him living in another house and working from there. I have some theories regarding this but will keep them to myself and Sarah for the time being. I lucked out as far as transportation goes. They live in Shikawatari, Yotsukaido-shi, Chiba. Anyone know anything about that area? They live 10 minutes from the station, and then the ride on the JR Sobu-line to the Makuhari station is 25 minutes, and the school is 20 minutes from there. Not too bad, all in all. So, that's that. I have to figure out what to get the boys as gifts, so I'll have to ask Kazuko-san to find out. Good lord, I hope she can speak English as I can't write it worth a damn.

Updates to come later.

As a side note...


My party was lots of fun, some people came and some didn't. I got a fair amount of cash out of it. 5 cards got me $260 so not bad overall. My Daddy got irritated though! "When you have a graduation party, we'll make sure you get a better payout! *grumble grumble*" I love my Daddy so much at times like that. Someone asked him if he'd be upset if I came back with a little Japanese husband. Of course they were expecting something racist but he says immediately "If he treats her well and has money, I don't care." Go Daddy.

Advertisement



22nd August 2006

Hmm, that does seem a touch strange. Single mothers are almost non-existant in Japan! This may be a really unique family. Keep me updated.
25th August 2006

Absolutely. She seems sort of...unusual. Apparently I'm the daughter she never had. o_O

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb