North Dakota East to West


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Dakota
September 9th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sept 9th, 2007

Crookston, MN to Lewis & Clark State Park, ND

[youtube=NU7fsMY7OJg][youtube=M1Z_sdLlgQo]Awoke to chilly temperatures in the upper 30s, but blue skies all around. I can deal with cold just not rain especially on a bike going 70 mph. Cruised down US HWY 2. Everything now is real flat, and just gets flatter. Crossed the Red River into Grand Forks, ND, home of the Fighting Sioux. Was amazed at the largest building I had seen on the plains and in North Dakota. It was the Ralph Englestad Arena, home of the University of North Dakota Fighting Sioux Hockey Team. I think they clearly love Hockey in North Dakota.

Then continued West checking a a few Giant Windmills generating electricity. They are a site to see on the plains...HUGE Windmills...

Then I got board with the highway so I took a dirt road heading west through the land of farms and pothole lakes. Ducks were everywhere in Eastern North Dakota. I could only imagine it when the birds start flying south.

Finally, stumbling upon the find of the day at the Dakota Hills Winery . Brian and Loveta were the owners and they had a great story. Purchased the old homestead a few years ago from the Mt. Baker area of Washington, where they operated a dairy farm. The homestead was a little house on the priarie setting complete with lakes surrounding it on 3 sides. The vino was pretty good too. So, if you are interested in some vino to go with your buffalo steaks, call Brain and he has some great wines to match up!

Pushed on West to the Geographic center of North America in Rugby, ND. Then on to Minot to check out where ole Mike McCoy spent some time with the Air Force. Minot's surrounding hills were pretty, but the town it itself left a lot to be desired in my opinion.

Pushed West to the arid Western part of North Dakota. The Wheat fields began and I went down to the Missouri River to follow the path of Lewis and Clark. Pulled into a sweet campsite all by my lonesome on the river and plains...




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



13th September 2007

Love the TravelBlog!
So glad you're recording your journey so we can all live vicariously, Steve! Safe travels and keep the writing/photos coming. -Stamp
13th September 2007

On the road again
We're following your trip here in Gainesville. Bodie wants to know if you wear a helmet (safety conscious 2-year-old; also happens to be a "Crat"). Enjoy the ride and take care, Erin p.s. We're expecting another baby in early Feb; will probably also be a "Crat". Can you stop in Florida on your way home??
13th September 2007

Looking forward to upcoming blogs!
Thanks for adding me to the guest list! I have spent my whole morning reading through them all to catch up on your newest adventure! Now I have a new blog site to add to my favorites!
14th September 2007

rainbows...
Out west you see these gorgeous, fully arched rainbows. They're beautiful! You are meeting so many interesting people and I know they energize you! Ride on safely. Mom
16th July 2010
Classic Dirt Road in North Dakota

Very Wonderous and lovely environment.
I HAVE A HIGH INTENTION TO VISIT THESE PLACES. HONESTLY SPEAKING, I WISH I WAS THERE; DRIVING THROUGH THE STRAIGHT DIRT ROADS IN NORTH DAKOTA.
6th April 2011
Geographical Center of North America - Rugby, ND

COOL
COOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12th February 2015
Geographical Center of North America - Rugby, ND

The builder of the monument
My father, Arthur M. Lund, built this monument when he was in the CC camp prior to WWII. He built other projects, dams for example, during this time, but this was his first project in stone. He became a carpenter, a skill he learned in the Seabees and his service in the CC camp.
9th March 2017
Rainbow on the Plains

Do you offer permission for your photos?
Hi--I have some posts about the Great Plains to go with my new book Song of the Plains and I would love to use your rainbow photo, if you allow permission. Could you please let me know? Thank you.
9th March 2017
Rainbow on the Plains

Rainbow pic
Sure just send me the title of the book when you are done so I can get a copy!

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb