Valley City Bridges


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm still out and about trying out my new camera and its killer lens. Passed through Valley City on my way to Fort Ransom. Decided to check out some of the things Valley City had to offer.

Valley City is home to a number of different styles of bridges because of the Sheyenne River weaving through the City. I stopped first at the Valley City footbridge which is a wonderful bridge built in 1901 to connect Valley City State University to the other side of the River. According to the Visitor's Site, the Bridge "is a three-span, 150 foot long suspension bridge--the only one of its kind in North Dakota". Listed as a National Historic Site.

Another bridge, in a completely different style, is the Highline Bridge which is still used railroad bridge. According to Visitor's Info, the bridge is "3,860 feet long and 162 feet above the river bed, the Highline Bridge is one of the longest and highest single-track railroad bridges in the nation". There are several other bridges in the City which I did not have time to view.

Then, I took the Sheyenne River Valley Scenic Byway North of Valley City. The byway follows the Sheyenne River which I was surprised to learn starts and ends in North Dakota. I headed about 10 miles north to Baldhill Dam and Lake Ashtabula. Very pretty area with the Dam holding back a very large lake which was very popular on the nice day that it was. Then, I headed back south taking the Sheyenne River Valley Scenic Byway to Fort Ransom (more on that later).



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



29th May 2007

once again...she is off travelling
I love that area north of Valley. I got your messages on Monday...but had computer issues. They are solved and I connect to the internet again to see your awesome pics! I am so happy for you! :)

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb