Enchanted Highway


Advertisement
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DeerDeerDeer

Huge metal sculpture with sun setting behind it.
I've always been meaning to drive down the so-called Enchanted Highway. Had the chance today, but with failing light I was only able to view a couple of the sculptures. The Highway is located between Interstate 94 and Regent, ND. According to its web site (http://www.enchantedhighway.net/), it contains the "world's largest metal sculptures". There have been 6 created to date with more apparently on the way. I was able to get photos of 2 before I ran out of sunlight. Below is some info from information stands at the sculptures and on the web.

The deer is made from some rusty oil field tanks that were welded together. The deer in this picture is 50 feet tall and 50 feet wide. There is also a buck that was apparently recently blown over in a nasty storm which came through the area.

The grasshopper(s) are also huge. The big grasshopper is 40 feet tall and 50 feet wide. The smaller grasshoppers are 12 by 15 feet. They are also painted. Again, made from oil field tanks.

Given the severe lack of artistic ability that I have, I was very impressed by what this local artist was able to do!
GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Those are standard size posts in front so one can see how big it is.


The sculptures are very large. Will definitely attempt to see the ones I missed the next chance I get.

Update: In late June, 2007, I went back on a trip out of state and toured the entire Enchanted Highway. I've posted a few more pictures of the other sculptures. There are a couple other sculpture photos also of pheasant and birds but am not posting those at this time. My fave was the fish. The guy who does these is an amazing artist.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



29th May 2007

nice road
that is a fun road to travel down...definetly worth a little jont. Loved the sunset...would like to see the night shots! :)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb