Holy Cow!


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Front/Side View of SueFront/Side View of SueFront/Side View of Sue

My nine year nephew is sitting on Sue's front hoof.
As my previous blog posts have mentioned, I've been trying to hit a number of the off beat attractions in my home state of North Dakota. The vast majority of these attractions I was never aware were there. Here's another that I have been well aware of all my life but had never stopped to actually get an up close look at. It's New Salem "Sue", the oversized Holstein cow perched on a hill in New Salem, ND. I have driven by Sue countless times in my life and never drove up the hill for the close look.

Sue is 40 feet tall and appears to have been recently painted. She shines. According to the "Dakota Day Trips" book, she came to New Salem back in 1974 to honor the state's dairymen. You can also see her on the hill from several miles away. It was hard to get a good photo because she's so huge and it was a very, very windy day when we were there.

Kids love stuff like this. Check another thing off my North Dakota list...



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb