Re-Pass Tale: 2 Views of the Chateau de Mores


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Dakota » Medora
August 1st 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Chateau de Mores, 1940sChateau de Mores, 1940sChateau de Mores, 1940s

These colorful linen postcards start with a black-and-white photo; an offset color printing process adds the bright colors.
Re-pass Tale: Same N. D. Scene, 65 Years Later
Medora, North Dakota


After leaving Teddy Roosevelt National Forest Southern Unit, I wanted to check out the Chateau de Mores just across the street from the “western gaudy” shops that border the park’s official entrance. This historic site was built in 1880 and features 26 rooms, frozen in time.
I poked my head in the house, and the State Historic Society worker asked me if I’d been misbehaving. The question caught me by surprise, as I had just been thinking how long it’d been since a proper shower (although, the cool Little Missouri river had just served Sophie the dog and I well).
I showed her the postcard, which she had never scene, and directed me to a hilltop cemetery ¼ mile away (just past the musical dinner theater).

Looking at a “linen” postcard (cotton woven into the paper) from the late ‘30s or ‘40s that I had purchased for 35 cents from the “junque” store on Minnesota’s North Shore, I mimicked the original postcards view as much as possible, given my zoom capabilities vs. the old-timey camera’s.

My photograph was taken 60-70
Chateau de Mores, 2010Chateau de Mores, 2010Chateau de Mores, 2010

Shot with a Nikon Coolpix camera, Sunday, August 1, 2010 5 p.m.
years after the original photo was taken.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb