This place is going to the dogs!


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(Antelope Creek Kennels)

I wasn't going to post a lot of pictures of the kennel construction, because I thought you could keep up to it better if you went to Jean's website ~~ antelopecreekkennels.com ~~ and she could post the pictures, but the progress is just exciting! Once they got the concrete poured, everything they do makes such an improvement. I've added just a couple, but do go check out Jean's site.

Besides pounding, there's not a whole lot going on. It's been hot (duh) and dry (DUH) and we're all surprised that July is almost over. And that's my news!

Oh, I do have one funny story: Jean has a recipe for a wonderful rhubarb slush, and we've been having one every afternoon (our pop-on-the-patio refreshment!) Yesterday we were out of slush, so I made fruit smoothies instead. While digging through the freezer for frozen fruit, I found a bag of small cherries off Jean's tree. How good will that be! I knew they'd be tart so I added some ice cream (bonus: extra calcium...this gets healthier all the time!) I got the whole thing mixed in the blender, and it made three extra-large smoothies. As I
July in NDJuly in NDJuly in ND

means not much rain, but lots of presentation~~meaning wind and clouds. And wind. Lots of wind. Did I mention we don't get much rain?
was taking a sip to see if they were perfect I got a little grit in my mouth, and asked Jean if the cherries had pits. She was sure they did (but my blender did a remarkable job getting them tiny-ish!), so we decided not to suck the drink through our teeth, and we also wouldn't bother Bob with this bit of information, as he probably wouldn't even notice. I added some chocolate to each drink, kind of like a chocolate covered cherry! I knew it probably wouldn't solve our pits problem, but hey~~what could it hurt?!! We headed out, and all the way to the barn (this wasn't even being held on the patio!) I was spitting little pebble-like things from my one swallow. It didn't take Bob long to ask what he was in his mouth! We drank all of it, but it was not fun....tasty, but not fun. It took a lot of spitting to get the tiny pit-bits out of our teeth! It seemed to follow this pattern~~drink, spit, spit, spit, spit, and then take another drink! Nothing like exfoliating your esophogus!!!

If Julia Child is listening, do not try this at home! (Note:Today
The words on the first pictureThe words on the first pictureThe words on the first picture

refer to this one also. It just looks like it holds moisture~~really it holds dust!
we had slushes!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ok, we got one rainstorm,Ok, we got one rainstorm,
Ok, we got one rainstorm,

and look what it produced. Breathtaking....
Pot o' gold???Pot o' gold???
Pot o' gold???

I don't think so! Can you see that the rainbow ends on this side of the posts?
This is all inside the metal barn.This is all inside the metal barn.
This is all inside the metal barn.

Jean's son-in-law came and did the electrical (Bob's least favorite part!) and helped with the ceiling and dog doors. The guys worked 12 hour days, but sure got a lot accomplished.
Our pop-on-the-patio patio!Our pop-on-the-patio patio!
Our pop-on-the-patio patio!

Some people call it coffee break, some call it recess, we still call it pop on the patio! You have to admit, this is a nice patio!


26th July 2008

LOL
the smoothie story just kills me!
27th July 2008

Hi, Lisa!
It's a recipe you'll definitely want to try!! I'm going to use the recipe next time I get asked to contribute to a cookbook!! A guy can't have too much fiber.
28th July 2008

LOL
Ok I am all about fiber, but "roughage" is a different story LOL
28th July 2008

PS
PS- the look on Dads face in the "pounding" picture is cute :) Kinda reminds me of a pic we'd see of Daniel or Tyler! :)
28th July 2008

The Real Story!
Hi, it's me, Jean. I am here to see that the true smoothie story is heard! Not that Vic lied, she just has a shorter version! I was busy working at the computer and Bob was pounding away in the new kennel while Vic once again was creating a soothie to challenge our taste buds. ( She is the only person I know that can add just about anything and make it taste "wonderful".) Anyway, I was plugging away at the keyboard when asked if the cherries had pits, I answered that they did, not realizing that they were already a major ingredient of the new smoothies! Vic responds "ooooooooh" just as I hear a horrible grinding noise coming from the blender. Needless to say, we giggled and spit and giggled and spit all the way to the barn. Out intend was not to burden Bob with our troubles, so we tried to surpress the giggles and Vic presented his smoothie with a smile on her face.....and we waited for his first sip......being the nice man that he is, Bob swallowed and smiled and we could see his mind mulling over the texture, racing to put a name to it. Meanwhile, Vic and I nearly choked when we saw the look on his face!! The three of us had a very interesting conversation as we sipped and spit our way to the bottom. Oh, yes, the bottom!! If you can imagine what the silt from the delta would feel like in your mouth then you would know what we were dealing with at the bottom of out glass! Yes, another wonderful memory that I will cherish all winter long while I wait for my friends to return to Project Antelope Creek next year........you will be back, won't you???
29th July 2008

I laughed
when I read Jean's account! Just one of many summer memories!! We'll be here next year!

Tot: 0.498s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.3747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb