Home for the Holidays


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina
December 28th 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Christmas on Thunder MountainChristmas on Thunder MountainChristmas on Thunder Mountain

My Dad, His Brother Tom, My Grandparents, me.
I arrived home after spending my final two weeks in Kaunas. It was an interesting experience being in Kaunas for the holiday season, in fact what surprised me the most was how similar it felt to the holidays here. The malls were filled with people, shopping and buying gifts, there was Santa Clause, there were Christmas trees and decorations and people baking Christmas goodies.

One unique tradition that they have is that the celebration and gift giving is traditionally done on Christmas Eve. Much of Christmas Eve is spent baking and making the evening meal, which normally consists of many small dishes, the magic number being twelve. At least twelve dishes are prepared, all of which cannot have meat in them. You are not supposed to eat meat on Christmas Eve or else you will have bad luck for the following year (I am oversimplifying the tradition, I am sure, but this is the essence of it). After you have eaten the twelve dishes you can have meat again. ☺


I arrived home late on the eve of Christmas Eve, and spent Christmas at home with my family.

I plan on being home for the next couple of months, unless it works out for me to visit my Brother in China, in which case I would leave in February. Either way, I am taking a sabbatical from my blog-writing. It has been fun blogging, I hope you have found some of the stories interesting. It has been a great excuse for me to write down my stories, to remember and reflect upon them. So thanks for reading.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DadDad
Dad

Sporting his Lithuanian Cap
Christmas Morning!Christmas Morning!
Christmas Morning!

Hannah, mom, and I. Before opening presents.
Skyping with JohnSkyping with John
Skyping with John

We Got to speak with John from China on Christmas Eve!! If you look closely, you will see him on the screen. A family portrait!
HANNAHHANNAH
HANNAH

Opening her gift from Sigitas, my coach in Lithuania.
MomMom
Mom

Giving the dogs their gifts (a bone).


Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb