In Preparation


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Raleigh
January 10th 2015
Published: January 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

It is January 10th, and for the past week I have been preparing and applying for what may be the most unique opportunity of my academic career. In June, with some luck and support from my friends, family, and community, I will have the amazing opportunity to travel with my university to Italy for four and a half weeks to immerse myself in Italian culture and practice the language skills I have acquired over the course of the last year and a half to two years. Over our four weeks in Italy, we will stay in the city of Perugia, about two hours north-east of Rome in the hills of central Italy, where we will live and learn. While there, we will live together, and even take two courses in Italian culture, art, or language, amongst which we are allowed to choose. In addition to our courses, we will have the opportunity to travel to Rome, Florence, and islands off the coast of Italy on weekend excursions. In preparation for this trip, I have applied for multiple scholarships, and plan on using as much personal money as I can raise to fund this trip. While the program's cost covers almost every activity in Italy, many aspects, such as much of our food, will have to come from personal finances. The program's cost also does not include our airfare to and from Italy.

As I continue to prepare for this amazing opportunity, I am excited that my community will join me here, and go on this journey with me.







Stay tuned, folks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb