yeeehaww!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Hickory
September 27th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


graduation dinnergraduation dinnergraduation dinner

Francesco, Uncle Masood, Ann, Sean and Me celebrating
I'm still learning the ropes of this blog site so this is pretty much a test run. So we're on the first part of our little journey. We arrived in good ol' "historic" Hickory, NC on Friday evening after a nicely uneventful drive. We're feeling very relaxed. Here we're visiting my uncle Masood, my dad's youngest brother and his family. It's really beautiful and I've already thrown my sneakers on and started exploring the area. It's rainy and chilly but that doesn't stop us. I met a neighbor who let me drive his tractor. I pet some horses and dogs.
Took a trip to nearby blowing rock which was beautiful. After chasing dreams of fall and leaves underfoot, we finally found it! We walked the little streets, browsed in super cute shops and then found a park where there was a little museum dedicated to Daniel Boone. I thought that would be something found in Kentucky but I guess he must have passed through North Carolina as well. I guess I would know more about it now if the museum were actually open 😊 Hours: Monday and Saturday from 1-4pm--what are the odds?
Francesco and my uncle played basketball in the
siblingssiblingssiblings

I never realized how similar we looked. Sean is such a great kid!
park while I fidgeted with the camera underneath an amazing tree.
Spent the final day of our NC stay in Charlotte. We really enjoyed just taking it easy and spending time with family. Francesco's a city boy and is antsy to get some smog into his lungs. We're off to DC next, talk to "ya'll" soon
xox


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

looking uplooking up
looking up

some of the best views in the world are seen from beneath trees
boys in the parkboys in the park
boys in the park

a little game of pickup in blowing rock before heading back into town
self portraitself portrait
self portrait

I was fiddling around and discovered this fantastic function on my camera
fall at lastfall at last
fall at last

we finally found a changing leaf (albeit fallen) after 3 years of seasonless south florida
smoky mountainssmoky mountains
smoky mountains

the view from our dinner table at this little local restaurant in blowing rock
tree meets towertree meets tower
tree meets tower

downtown charlotte, north carolina


4th October 2009

Have fun!
Looks like you are having a great time!! Enjoy yourselves
5th October 2009

Even though I am not said "strapping lad with balls," I loved this! Thanks so much for sharing your adventures. Come back through Atlanta! Love you two, CC
5th October 2009

We just drove back from NC yesterday (Boone, Charlotte, Shelby, Hickory)! Seeing leaves change colors was amazing :)
15th October 2009

So deserved! A vacation finally. I'm so happy you two are having a good time! Let me know were you two settle down. Take care!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb