Greensboro, NC


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Denise and FamilyDenise and FamilyDenise and Family

Denise with Liberty and Sissy
Goodmorning! This morning I'm writing from a cheerfully lit library in Greensboro as my Red Roof Inn has no internet connection. That's okay though, because it helps to get me out and about. I DO like the fact that it's fine with Red Roof that I'm traveling with two pups. There isn't even an additional charge.
Well let me back up a tad. I left Taylorsville for the arduous 2 hour drive to Greensboro yesterday afternoon. After spending 7 wonderful nights relaxing with Denise I was almost anxious to be moving on. And I arrived at my hotel around dusk, which just makes a new town look that much more uninviting to me when I'm traveling alone. But this morning is bright and sunny and after taking the pups for a one hour walk, I'm hoping in a bit to head down town and see what this city has to offer. More on that later.....
I want to back up a tad and chat about the great dinner I had in Charlotte with Bill and Melinda. I think I mentioned, Melinda taught English at Key (highschool) during the same time that I taught Math. Though she had been there longer, we both left the same year (summer of 2006). I drove down for a second dinner last Thursday and it was well worth the drive. The meal was great and their guests were interesting and friendly. As a bonus, they invited a single, interesting, funny and good-looking guy to balance out the boy-girl numbers. Excellent! The only downside; he lives in Charlotte. After all the guests left, I stayed and chatted a while longer and fear I stayed a bit too late for people who had to go to work the next day. But I almost felt like I couldn't help myself; I really missed their conversation. It was a great visit and I hope it makes it easier to stay in touch, here on out 😊
As for my stay with Denise, I will miss the most our lazy mornings with huge diner breakfasts at Triple Play (I think we were there 4 or 5 times in the week that I was in town) followed by our easy walks with all four dogs.
Yeah! I'm finally able to publish pictures 😊

Advertisement



3rd February 2008

Great to see you
You were an easy guest, Ann, and didn't stay too late at all. It was great to catch up! Can't wait to hear about more of your adventures!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb