Chimney Rock Park


Advertisement
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've visited Chimney Rock before and so enjoyed myself the last time that I wanted to go back again. It was a nice drive as you weave your way through the trees. Things weren't as green this time of year as I had hoped but was still a lovely way to spend a good chunk of my day. Plus, got a workout!

Headed off to the Skyline Trail to make my way to the top of Hickory Nut Falls. The path is a mix of dirt, roots, wood, rock steps and wood steps. You're definitely climbing up. Wasn't a lot of people there yet since it had just opened so had some nice views of Chimney Rock.

Made my way along the trail and finally reached the falls. The waterfall was pretty powerful this time of year so a great view. It has several spots for photos as it drops and curves down the cliff. Was able to get some pretty nice shots (for me). When I first started out, there was a fairly heavy fog but by the time I made my way back, it had basically lifted and the sun was peaking through. Was a really pretty day and the temperature was very comfortable. The granite cliffs are pretty amazing to view.

The Cliff Trail was closed this time of year which was a good thing because the Skyline Trail was very slippery in spots and I remember from last time that the Cliff Trail has some pretty scary drops so don't want to be messing around on that. The whole climb was very peaceful.

The Hickory Trail was also open so I headed that way to make my way to the bottom of the Falls. Unfortunately, you can't get up to the Falls bottom like you used to because of a storm a few years back which washed out a good chunk of the trail. It's a relatively easy trail which takes about an hour up and back. Great view of the lower area of Hickory Nut Falls. Big splash factor! Really great place to visit!

Next stop...Smoky Mountains National Park.

The movie "The Last of the Mohicans" was shot here and it's easy to pick out the spots with the granite drops.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Bug on theTrailBug on theTrail
Bug on theTrail

Good thing I saw him! Helped him off the trail before he got stamped.
Water Trickling Down the WallsWater Trickling Down the Walls
Water Trickling Down the Walls

My filter fogged up and I thought it made a nice effect.


17th April 2008

Awesome photos!
Don't you just love the Appalachians in the spring? It's such a different place than the western mountains, and even though it wasn't as green for you as it could be, you got some great photos and sounds like you had an equally great time! I especially love the water shots; it's so romantic almost to falls like that with the long exposure. :) Hope all is well!!
3rd May 2008

Subdued Mood is not Easy to Capture
But you did a very nice job at it! I particularly like the "Water Trickling Down the Walls" shot.... Great image!! Also, I commend you for taking the trouble of saving that little bug on the trail... That small gesture says a lot about you as a human being... Most people would go out of their way to kill anything that crosses their path!

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.1594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb