OOooch, I'm SO SO out of shape


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Charlotte
December 19th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Its not that I didn't already KNOW I was out of shape...I wasn't even in denial about it. I just wasn't prepared for the pain of movement. Its crazy how very lazy I've become. A little over a year ago I was in the gym at least 4 times a week...now, nothin'! Oh well. Thats all about to change. The laziness is coming to an end. Our adventure will have know use for laziness. THANK GOD!!!!
Yesterday we went out to Lake Lure (made famous by Dirty Dancing). We hiked up a long leaf coverer trail. My lungs loved it. First sign of how out of shape I am. Anyway...we went the wrong way. Wonderful. I couldn't keep up with Adam, I couldn't even see him in the woods. Woods filled with trees with no leaves because its winter so I should be able to see Adam, but couldn't because THATS how far behind I got (BIG DEEP BREATH IN, and out). I had to call Adam on my cell phone...in the woods with trees with no leaves. Cute. Thank god I can "rough" it. Good thing, I'll be w/out cell phone when we hit the road. Sweet. For someone who claims to not need much...I "need" real important things like my cell phone. Wahoo, Adam answered and he put me back on track. I found Adam and we found the BOULDERS.
I only did a small amount of bouldering. The rock was killing my hands and I'm not strong enough to do much. Baby steps. I'll get better. Adam kicked ass, but he usually does. He's been doing this type of thing for 10 years, so I feel bad that I can't really keep up. But, luckily, the beauty of bouldering is that you CAN do it by yourself. I need to get over the fear of hurting myself. Its not a crazy fear. Why would I want to fall and bust my bum? Baby steps.
So today....OOOOOOOooouch. My shoulders are killing me. Boulder problems, here I come. Ouch. Slowly.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb