Overview of the "Travels with Pooter & Petunia Tour"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Charlotte
February 3rd 2008
Published: February 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! Well, I'm officially unemployed as of Feb 1 after nearly a nearly 15 year career with Wachovia. I was given a good package so rather than rush into another job, I've decided to take several months off, and take an extended trailering trip with my "kids" Pooter (the cat) and Petunia (the dog) and our new T@b T@da travel trailer. Like anyone who's worked in the corporate world knows, the stress is relentless and taxing, so I'm treating myself to rest, fun, laughter, travel, new sights and locations, and deadline-free days and nights. Yee-haw I am excited!

We'll leave Charlotte on Feb 15th and head first to Atlanta to visit long-time great friends for several days, then set off west along the Gulf Coast. Our 2nd destination will be Austin TX and my sister Susan and her husband, daughter Katie and husband Josh, and son Simon. I'll decide what the next destination will be shortly, but you can be sure that one of our furthest destinations will be Vancouver BC. Heck, we might go farther north than that ... We're FREE to go where we want, when we want, so we'll let the spirit guide us ...

I'll go to the RV dealer (Tom Johnson Camping Center - Marion NC) Friday Feb 8 to have the hitch put on my SUV, learn all about the trailer and its systems, and practice hitching/unhitching, towing, parking, and spend the night to test out the sleep quality. I can't WAIT! It's such fun to organize everything needed to make the trailer our home for several months and add unique and silly/special things to it. When I redid my home's backyard area I called it "My Peaceful Place" because I planned for it to be a calm and beautiful sanctuary to enjoy. So keeping that in mind, I've named our trailer "M3P" for "My PORTABLE Peaceful Place" ... What ya' think?

So, this blog will be my tool for updating friends and family on our journey. I love to write so you can expect many, many updates and insights (since I am afterall, an extravert as those of you who know me know all too well).

Ok, will close for now, with much more to come soon. Feel free to send us notes with comments, questions, suggestions, whatever. My direct email is hjlincoln@aol.com.

Ciao for now everyone! John




Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 998.6kb