Adams Creek Anchorage


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Beaufort
October 29th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Great day on the ditch. I wanted to get near the mouth of the Neuse. Ended up an hour south of Oriental NC
Left Belhaven - 7:15 AM

Arrived at Adams Creek 2:30 PM

I put up the head sail several times when it would fly and averaged 7 kts. Saw allmost 8 in the Neuse River. Fixed two problems on the way. It was nice to get out of closed canals and into open water. Kind of bouncy on a run but not too bad, the auto helm kept up with it and I just fixed things and read. Sitting at anchor on Adams Creek with eight other boats right now and it is still early. Pretty anchorage with trees on three sides. Good protection from the Northeast winds they are calling for tonight.

Cloudy and cool but not uncomfortable. Wind varied all day maybe reacched 15 kts at one time on the Neuse.

I will probably stop in Beaufort tomorrow and see if someone can look at the dinghy motor.

Passed a guy yesterday as I was going into the Canal he had an old boat with an outboard no bimini or dodger. The boat is probably 25 feet. he is probably 75. Rusted anchor, old lines all over the deck and a big box of something in the cockpit, maybe a generator. He pulled into Belhaven last night at dusk. I never got a chance to talk to him. Looked like he had a spare old outboard on deck. I hope he anchors here tonight.

Got to go see ifI canfix the anchorline roller. It slams from one side to the other and wakes me up.

When is anybody going to sign up for a ride. I need somebody to drink a beer with.





Advertisement



30th October 2009

But what about the mosquitoes?
All that is nice but inquiring readers want to know if you solved your mosquitoe problem! :) That answer might encourage or discourage riders. Sounds like you are making good progress. Is the weather getting warmer? It pretty much sucks here in Richmond. Looking forward to your next post. I'll drink to your progress tonight! Don
31st October 2009

mosquitos
I smashed about 50 of them. Ther are little mosquito smudges all over the boat. I never got bit though. Maybe because I covered up my head and only breathed through a little hole in the blanket. Never saw themafter that night. I'll see how it goes at Camp LeJeune. I've always heard there are a lot of mosquitos around here.

Tot: 0.639s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb