Ashville, NC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Asheville
September 26th 2012
Published: October 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well the arrival in Ashville was fairly impressive itself. We drove into town and decided that we should definitely have flowers for the soon to be Shannon Tourto a.k.a Shorto! Especially as I was showing up to their wedding uninvited without ever having met the two before. So we went to a supermarket, picked some flowers up and drove to the Tourto abode. What better way to arrive than sitting on the kayak on the roof of the car with flowers in between our legs singing, 'The night they drove old dixie down' by the Band,
Needless to say Shannon and Anthony both loved the entrance. The next couple of days were an interesting time for me, trying to get to know two people quickly who were about to go through a massive moment in their lives. But luckily Seth had taken me to the house of two beautiful people. A month later and I still can't believe how easily they accepted me into their house and lives during that time. Going for walks with Tourto and Duchess, chewing hogs of tobacco (sorry Mum, had to try it), and generally living life in Ashville, NC. My memory fails me on remembering the exact order of proceedings however, the fantastic hosts that they were would leave me out of no part of the wedding. Family breakfasts, lunches, dinners, parties. It really was one good time after the other. And in between this, still had time to chew some backy, play some guitar and just relax. Not to mention getting pretty damn close to a tailgate football party with the Quiggs and tying six or seven bowties in the hours preceeding the wedding. Obviously it was far too late notice to join the ceremony, but the reception was a blast. An amazing meal, too many martini's, and of course a metric tonne of dancing. I don't think I'll ever forget the band that played and the awesome boogie sessions that were had. Some of Tourto's relatives were hardcore dancers. Quote from Meg - (said with a hoarse throat and puffy eyes) 'Can you tell them.... to.....play...........one more......sooonngg!' haha A huge thankyou to both families for having me there! Seth and I hung out for a couple of days at the house after the Tourto's left for their honey moon to Italy. General chilling out, beer drinking and trying to figure out what to pack for South America! On the 3rd of August, I left Ashville on the Greyhound, bound for Atlanta, GA and then Medellin, Colombia. It would be a rubbish 48 hours of travel to follow, and one of the worst nights sleep i've ever had in the Airport. But finally, I found myself on the plane to Colombia, with that ridiculously big smile that proceeds any arrival in a new destination!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb