First Post


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, last week I was given the news that I was accepted into the Oxford Study Abroad Programme for early 2008. I'm really looking forward to immersing myself into the culture in Oxford, both academic and social. I plan to study mostly post-imperialist literature, although I'm also going to be taking tutorials in Renaissance Drama and the History of British India.

But that's not the exciting part! My semester ends on April 8, which gives me five and a half weeks between then and May 18, when I have to be back in the States (for my college's graduation...I'll still have another semester to go, but most of my close friends are graduating). I plan to use those five weeks to travel around Europe as much as possible.

The countries I would like to visit most are France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, and Ireland and/or Scotland. I have two possible itineraries planned:

1. (all by train) Ireland and/or Scotland, Paris, Madrid, Lisbon/Southern Portugal, Barcelona, Nice, Venice, Florence, Rome, flight to US.
This one is easier because there's no worry about flying, but it does mean that I have to backtrack in Spain. I think that Italy is one of the most expensive places, and I can be the most liberal in my spending in the last place I visit.

2. (almost all by train) Ireland and/or Scotland, Paris, cheap airplane trip to Rome, Rome, Florence, Venice, Nice, Barcelona, Madrid, Southern Portugal, Lisbon, flight to US.
This trip would cut out my backtracking in Spain, and put me in Portugal on my birthday. Also, since Lisbon is where I want to party the hardest, I can spend the last of my money there. But, this could backfire if I run out of money or for some other reason have to go home early.

Anywho, this TravelBlog will probably be boring for the next couple months as I prepare for my trip, so bear with me. My entire family is going to London for Christmas and to drop me off in Oxford, so December is when the party starts!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb