New York City Daily Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
June 26th 2016
Published: July 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Each day brings different sites and sounds since I started my current role. On June 16, I noted a few observations on my day to work. it was a beautiful sunny day outside so I was able to get the full picture of the city. I walk about 12 blocks from Penn Station (Long Island Railroad) to the office.

I take the 7:27AM train. It is packed with people standing by the doorway. I look to my left and right and see people sleeping (a few of them snoring away), reading, talking extremely loud on their phones, working hard remotely on their jobs, or using the Internet on the phone. Every day I see the same people going into the same car day after day. As I arrive closer to the city, a huge advertisement appears. The NYC skyline is right behind looking breathtaking. I have seen this image hundreds of times traveling to the city and it definitely never gets old.

We arrive into Penn Station and walking outside I see cops and army men looking diligently at everyone. I walk towards the stairs to leave and it is jammed up. Every day it always backs up and amazes me that people can't get up an escalator quick enough. I reach the top and hear the call of a woman giving out Free Daily NYC circulation called Timeout. Her voice is so loud and piercing to my ears. I walk up 7th avenue and cross to the other side of the street to avoid the crowds. There are so many people looking down at their phones without a care in the world to observe what is going on around them. Empire State building appears behind me as I keep walking to work.

As I walk I see homeless people all around. All different types of people with signs explaining their difficulties in life. One woman is pregnant and others have cats or dogs with them to try to get money. It is a sad state to see and one of the parts of the city I don't enjoy seeing. In the distance, Times Square appears. It is a beautiful sunny day with the rays beaming off the buildings. It is breathtaking to city even to this native New Yorker. Tourists all over with their selfie sticks and cameras. I hear the sounds of honking horns and ambulances. Good Morning America filming with people trying to get their five minutes of fame on TV. I walk down a block and pass by Bryant Park. It is another site I always enjoy seeing and it is all set up for a concert taking place at lunch time. I walk by another man screaming out scriptures as I arrive onto my block. Food trucks galore parade the block and the smell of Chick Fil A fills up my nose. The walk takes only 15 minutes but you see so many people and sites that it makes it all worth it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb