Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
December 26th 2015
Published: December 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Up in the early A.M today. There was a morning chill but it felt great, especially after a long rainy and humid week in DECEMBER. It was a gloomy, muggy Christmas this year lol talk about global warming. Who would've thought it can hit 70 degrees during the end of December in NYC? Either way, I spent my Christmas this year packing. It was quite hectic. Lesson learned (for me at least ): do not leave packing 'til the last day lol.

We arrived at the airport in a little less than a half hour. No traffic - score! My brother drove and my mom came along. It was a comforting, peaceful ride. Of course the song "See You Again" by Charlie Puth and Wiz Khalifa played on the radio as we arrived at JFK. I'm really going to miss my family. Shout-out to my brother James for giving me the push I needed to make this study abroad decision. I'm excited for this new milestone in my life.

As I stepped into the airport, I felt this sense of independence and empowerment. It's my first time flying myself. I'm so exhausted but my adrenaline has been pumping throughout the night. Being in this airport makes me reminiscent of the movie "Home Alone 2: Lost in New York," which I was able to catch on TV right before I leave 😊 It makes me very happy watching my all-time favorite holiday classic movie filmed in my hometown.

As I am typing this, the sun is rising (finally. I think it's been about a week since I saw the sun and the ground drying up) and people are filling up the seats around me. Boarding very soon 😊
See you in a bit, Central America!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb