German expat in New York. My story...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
December 23rd 2015
Published: December 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I’ve never been in New York before. I’ve never wanted to move to the USA. But one day I decided it was the time to see the Big Apple and, what is even more unexpected, I stayed there. Just like that, cancelled my ticket, sublet an apartment via Craigslist, and voila! - I’m a New Yorker now. Can you believe it? A year ago, I saw New York only on German TV. I still can’t. I wasn’t ready to change my life in such a dramatic way, I just did it, though.

I felt like Alexander von Humboldt, while exploring the city. So much things to do, so little time. I explored all the villages first, went all the way up to the Cloisters by the Washington bridge, took a ferry to Staten Island, made zillions of pictures of Statue of Liberty and Empire State Building. Tried local German meals. Well, you got the drill.

At the beginning, I was a bit overwhelmed. Well, not a bit, but still… Only after a while living in the city I could point to pros and cons. Let’s concentrate on pros. The first thing I mentioned were smiling people everywhere. I don’t know who said that New Yorkers are rude, I’ve experienced so much help and happiness from them, they literally taught me how to keep the face smiling. One day I was rummaging through the bag on 34th street station and an elegant lady just handed me her MetroCard to swipe. Another noteworthy things are flags. We all have to learn from americans how to be a patriot, seriously. How many flags hanging on Saks Fifth Avenue? Have you counted? A lot! By the way, have you seen flags in Florida? They’re like the size of a football field.

I know that New York is not America, but I’m captivated by New Yorkers’ lifestyle, it is so fast, and chaotic, and diversified. Sometimes I feel dizzy.

‘When in Rome, do as Romans do’, - once a sage said. The hardest part for me was a small talk. I tried to overcome my accent barrier. I sounded too German to myself. And after the question “Where are you from?”, I felt like I failed.

I did like locals do for quite a while, but one day I woke up and my nostalgia was so stinging I can’t think about anything but going back home. I had been picturing my friends and family together for a while, how I would walk the streets in Munich, how I visit my high school friend in Berlin, how I’d speak German to people on streets... I was scrolling my Facebook feed that morning, liking random friends’ pictures from german countryside and guess what? I stumbled on the post from my german descent workmate about German TV channels he subscribed to. ”It’s easier than order Schnitzel on Seamless” he wrote. I don’t know what about you, but it sounded like a plan to me. I was watching Tatort by lunch. Just laptop and Internet connection, no wires, unnecessary manuals and headache. I felt relieved and happy to hear the native language.

I’ve been living in New York City for 3 years now. I keep watching German TV and American news when I have an opportunity. I got used to american optimism but stay scrupulous like a true German does. Do you know what I figured out living in another country? You can be happy right now, and will be sad the next moment. Life is like a roller coaster. To stay invulnerable always follow three simple rules - keep smile on your face, keep balance in your life and stay attached to your roots.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb