Another morning in the shelter...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 18th 2015
Published: April 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Lucy! Lucy!... Lucy! They've been yelling that all week, the godamn junkies here at the homeless shelter, they're driving me crazy! And they won't ever go to sleep at night!! And they snore too... jesus they.. LUCY! LUCY LUCY!.. SHUT IT UP ALREADY!!!!! I swear I'M going crazy in here. I slept with my ear phones on last night to escape the loudness of this place. Soothed myself with Michael buble, until the phone died around two in the morning. And then I could hear them again, sneaking -_-

Good news though. Mick got me a job at his work place. It's a small Belgian waffle stand on 35th and 7th st. Right on Herald square, couple of blocks away from times square. Im surrounded by tourists, socialization, and waffles. It's not bad, minimum wage, but not bad. Tuesday i went midtown to get my NYC security guard licence. It's with a company that needs 200 guards right now, but trains and certifies future prospects with out experience, like me. Had to pay $75 for the application and Il be paying $220 on next friday for the three classes I need to take. I found the company in a newspaper ad. Sometimes I get the feeling im being messesed with here... but life's a big gamble, we'll see.

I also bought me a bike this week. I supposedly needed it for the job. Apparently i'm a delivery boy, except theres one problem, there are no deliveries yet! The manager tells me it's because we're just starting off, but in the meantime I had to abandon my metro card for a 50 minute bike ride to work and another 50 back! Good thing I started conditioning my body and stamina right after last thanksgiving. I just did it to get healthy. By mid march I knew my jogging routine was gonna pay off once I was in New York.

My manager at work gave me the weekend off. I think i'm going to go pick up my cameras later at Frank's and take some pictures of the city, a la tourist. Next entry will have some pictures for sure.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb