New York...concrete jungle where dreams are made of


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
October 4th 2012
Published: October 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So it's day 14 here in the big smoke and I only have a day left before I head to London early Saturday morning. Since the girls left I have moved over to the Upper East Side where some of the townhouses are jusy amazing...but then when you pay $20 million for one I guess you'd expect it to be nice! Because we got all the touristy things out of the way in the first week, this week has been the perfect opportunity to just live like a local, get up a bit later, jump on the subway into town and just walk, eat & people watch!

I spent the day yesterday getting lost in Chinatown and Little Italy and then had lunch in Soho and walked the lovely cobble stone streets there for a few hours. The night before I met up with a guy I used to work with at Bovis in Melbourne who lives here now and he took me to a couple of bars in Midtown which was good fun. I got a bit lost trying to get there, I was close to tears but had a very nice man look it up on the internet on his phone for me before I lost it completely!

I've spent some more time walking the financial district, Union Square, Macy's got a work out the other day!

I went to the Angus Stone concert earlier in the week, what a bloody tripper but was good. The girl I am staying with took me to a local bar last night to meet with some of her friends and then we went to a couple of typical NY bars and Tao which is a cool bar/restuarant that was on sex & city episode.

Today I finally did the Central Park bike tour which was for 2 hours and was a great way to see it. I'd tried to go on a couple of free walking tours all this week but every time it was on it rained! It rained a bit today too but wasn't too bad. I think we were lucky with the weather the first week cause this week it has rained every day. After that I rewarded myself with a burger & fries at Bloomingdales..pretty sure I've put on about 5kgs since being here! Heard a really great busker on the subway today, best
New YorkNew YorkNew York

Tao restuarant & bar
so far, first one to get my hard earned off me!

Suprisingly the drinking water (tap) here is really good, I don't know what I was expecting but it's probably better than Brisbane water and defs better than Melbourne water! They are also strangely into recycling here. The recycling stacks on the street are kind of like the wood stacks in Switzerland, very organised! One really strange thing is there are no lights (at all) in the bedrooms or main living areas over here. They have them in the kitchen, bathroom and hallway so I have no idea why it was never extended to other parts. Highly annoying when you come home after a few and have to trip over all th sh** on the floor to get to the lamp!! Bizzare...

The amount of unhinged people here is quite amazing, I know there are a lot more people but there are alot more crazy people which is really quite sad.

So my news isn't very exciting because I've been doing not much tourist stuff which has been great! Hopefully it's not raining again tomorrow and I can head to Queens and a few other places I haven't visited yet before leaving. I've had a cold all this week, bloody public transport germs...eeech so I'm feeling a but crappy but carrying lots of tissues and taking cold n flu as much as I'm allowed!

I'm about to head off to Serendipity as in the one from the movie..just to add to that extra 5kgs around the middle!

Catch you in London or Scotland most probably!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

New YorkNew York
New York

Am I in London or NYC...another gloomy day!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb