Wednesday...off to the High Line track


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 25th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Headed off to the High Line located in the Meat Packing district today. This is an elevated walking track converted from a dis-used rail. It has gardens, seats, great views and is a real experience. I saw some great architecture and enjoyed seeing the mix of old and new together. Bits of art are interspersed and there was seating and a painted wall where they apparently show movies in Summer - what a great idea! Walked for ages and then put my feet up, put my IPod on and read for a little while sitting on a comfy seat. Very creative and ingeneous and something I really enjoyed.

Oh, and tried my first Pretzel. Underwhelmed. In fact, didn't like it at all and threw it away. Very salty and a strange texture but hey, I tried it.

Walked to Chelsea markets later. This is housed in an old building that used to be a biscuit manufactuer (Nabisco) and had lots of old world charm and seems well preserved. Ate a late lunch there and enjoyed browsing in some stores - some really interesting, eclectic bits and pieces but didn't buy anything (oh, except some shortbread).

Nice day. Am
High Line gardenHigh Line gardenHigh Line garden

The old tracks have been left in...looks great
getting used to this solo travel but start my tour in a few days. Am expecting early starts and long days so just might not be blogging so much then perhaps.

Anyway, weather is turning again tomorrow so not sure what I'll be doing - perhaps the Museum of Modern Art (?) cos anyone that knows me knows that I am so into art...lol. Looks like might not get to do Empire State building - we'll see.

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

High LineHigh Line
High Line

Interesting textures
High LineHigh Line
High Line

Art piece
High Line gardenHigh Line garden
High Line garden

Trying to be creative


26th April 2012

Hi Gill
I love the blog. It's almost like being there. Keep it up. I might get you to give us lessons when you get home so we can try it? Sounds like you are having a great time, I hope the tour goes well. Love Frank.
26th April 2012

Hi'ya Frank & Rae,
Thanks Frank.... Thanks for your comment on my blogging (or blagging...lol). I guess cos I am travelling solo it gives me the chance to share my story/trip with my loved ones....which is all part of a holiday. Anyway, I enjoy it (must like sound of my own voice...lol) Anyway, I expect that my blogs will slow down now as tomorrow afternoon meet up with the tour group. I guess we will have early starts, shared dinners etc and so may not blog as often. Will be happy to show you how to use start the blog but its really easy. (www.travelblog.org). Not long til your trip now ...getting excited I bet. Cheers, Gillian

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb