New York by Train...Ready To Go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
November 5th 2011
Published: November 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow! I cannot believe it is November. Almost time to drag out the holiday decorations. I've already settled in with my Pumpkin Spice Coffee. All of this seasonal change makes me want to hop the Amtrak to New York City. Although flying is sooo much quicker, consider the train next trip. It is about 11 hours from Salisbury NC to New York Penn Station. Our train, the Crescent (I love that the train has a name) departs at 1:00am and arrives NYP around 1:30pm. Just in time for check-in!

If you rarely get to spend quality time with the family this is a great opportunity. There are great photo ops along the way. Our train stops several times and is in Washington, DC for about an hour or so.

There is nothing like going to the dining car for breakfast when you are riding across the Virginia mountains. No, the breakfast isn't the best in the world but it is good.

I love the lonesome sound of the train whistle...it transports you to another place and time. So this time of the year my wanderlust has the best of me. No plans to go this year but planning a trip with the kids, grandkids, and hubby for next Thanksgiving to take in the Macy's Day Parade. It will be hideously expensive for rooms but worth it for the experience with the family.

There is nothing like being on the train. My favorite part is taking a nap after lunch (gotta love those naps), waking up and seeing the NYC skyline off in the distance.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb