Home Ain't So Bad


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 18th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

MagnoliaMagnoliaMagnolia

The tree in my front yard.
It seems to me that a lot of people always rhapsodize about places they have traveled to or places that they plan on traveling to. Frequently they do this at the expense of the place that they call home. I am extremely guilty of this. Sometimes I need to stop and look around and realize all the good things that this place has to offer.

The reason that I am thinking about this now is that we here in New York have seen some gorgeous weather the past few days. It was 74°F today and the sun is shining. The temperature today in my future home, Sapporo, was 44°F. And it hasn't even reached 50°F there yet this year. This nice spring weather is something I am going to miss next year. I love when the warm weather takes over from the chill of winter and I listen to George Harrison's "Here Comes the Sun" and say it's all right.

Since I found out that I would be living and working in Japan I have been keeping up with all the travel blogs from Japan. Recently, there have been many on the cherry blossoms and the festivals that accompany
Pink BlossomsPink BlossomsPink Blossoms

Is this America or Japan??
their blooming there. The pictures are beautiful. Then I walk outside my house this week and I see our flowering Magnolia tree. And I appreciate it in a way I never really did before. Also today wandering around the field today at school while organizing a class soccer match I spot these three trees with beautiful pink blossoms. Now why aren't these just as special as the cherry blossoms in Japan? Maybe the Japanese appreciate what they have more. I’m not sure.

I had a brilliant day today. It was the kind of day where everything clicks. We went on an all day school trip to the Intrepid. It is always nice to get away from the normal routine, and I do enjoy being with my students. They all have such interesting personalities. We are always laughing at one thing or the other. We left in the morning. As we rode along, I just kicked back and watched the Hudson River flow by and admired the glorious sunshine. It was fun to see all the different planes on the Intrepid. I was particularly pleased about seeing and going inside the Concorde. At least I can say I've done that
Field at SchoolField at SchoolField at School

The sun is out and there are flowering trees everywhere.
now. It was also great to feel the warm sun on my face as we walked around the top of the aircraft carrier.

So on this bright shining spring day I am remembering to appreciate what I have and not always think that the "grass is always greener" somewhere else. I wonder what will I be doing at this time next year? Probably, shivering and wondering when the cherry blossoms are going to finally bloom up in Hokkaido and perhaps thinking about that Magnolia tree in my front yard.


Advertisement



13th May 2006

home
right we often forget how nice home is.good luck in your new home

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb