Tuesday 10th August


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 11th 2010
Published: August 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post


Today we decided to go our own way! Just kidding.
I went to Macy’s and shopped for 4 hours. So many clothes and shoes and accessories. I wish they had a store like that at home. I sent Matt an SMS during the day:
Macy’s shoe dept = overwhelming

Later I went to one of the 12 manicure & pedicure places along 2nd Ave near the apt and got all spruced up.

After dinner we walked to the Rockefeller Centre and looked out over New York from the top.
We could see camera flashes coming from the Empire State Building - very funny - because I’m sure that’s what they could see from the Rockefeller Centre rooftop too!
The views were fabulous.

We hopped on the subway and went to the Brooklyn Bridge, we walked across to the centre and admired the scenery and loved the cool breeze. I could see the red flame/light of the Statue of Liberty, so I hope we get to head out on a ferry tomorrow for a look.

We just got in - midnight again! The streets are still busy, many shops are open, it’s amazing. The city never sleeps.

I’ll hand over to Matt to fill in the adventures he had today:

Yep well Emma went shopping (surprise surprise) so I went walk about, with no plans and no map I decided to just follow 2nd Ave as far as it went downtown, past parks with people playing sport stopped at a skate park for a while, some impressive stuff!

Hit the water at Manhattan Bridge and decided to grab lunch at a little dinner, damn fine smoked pork ribs and several Corona’s later out into the heat again. Took a while to find my way up to be on top of the Brooklyn Bridge, the NYPD have it under tight control these days most the stairways are closed off. Got the subway back and I was stuffed, bloody hot and humid all day round 35 deg.

I made dinner at home tonight, then we went to see the city by night which was awesome
.
As Emma said we are going to hit the water tomorrow which I have been looking forward to, maybe hit some of the smaller islands at the same time. Bed now, need sleep………………………



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb