The Waiting Game


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
February 6th 2006
Published: April 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

February in the SuburbsFebruary in the SuburbsFebruary in the Suburbs

View from outside my window.
Well, now this is where things get interesting. On Thursday afternoon I fly to Boston to take part in a job fair that has the power to dictate what my life will be like for at least the next two years, as well shape my future indefinitely. It is a strange and kind of daunting event.

Actually it has been made someone less daunting by the fact that one school has gone out of their way to pursue me for a position. They have even gone so far has to set up an interview with me Thursday night before the fair even begins. They have told me that barring any unforeseen circumstances I am their top choice. This has allowed me to sort of daydream what my life would be like there next year.

It is hard not to let myself get too carried away because I actually don't have the job officially. I have watched the days of January tick on by as I wait to seal the deal so to speak. I am also wondering if by focusing on this one school I am cutting myself from any other opportunities that may be out there. However, there have been so many signs and reasons that make it feel like I am supposed to go there.

I don't want to say too much because I don't want to jinx it before the contract is signed. But I will say that it is in Asia and a bit less tropical than I had originally envisioned. But hey I can deal with some snow.

Anyway, I should know more in a few short days and will be able to post more then. This state of waiting for this to happen is a strange place to be. Also the weather has been so warm here this winter that I keep feeling that spring is just around the corner. Very confusing, although it was kind of wintry today.

Anyway, on an unrelated note, I have decided where I will be going for my two-week spring break in May…..Colombia. That is if I get the job, which cant' be guarenteed. If I somehow I wind up with a job in South America, or none at all, I will head over to Southeast Asia. Interesting times for Tommy No Papers.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 119; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb