17 days left


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » Syracuse
December 27th 2008
Published: December 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Merry HolidaysMerry HolidaysMerry Holidays

cheesy christmas photo, I just couldn't help myself...
It's getting down to the wire before I leave for Spain. I'm thinking about all the last minute details, all the little things like buying a return ticket and figuring out how I am going to afford this trip. Minut details in the life of a traveler. Honestly with each trip I take I feel more at ease with traveling. Of course I still have the tingling of anticipation, but I feel like I know what I am doing a little more each time. Having said that, I know I am going to encounter several experiences that will slap me in the face with a reality check that I actually know nothing.

As far as I know I will be in Barcelona most of the time. I have a limited budget, so for this trip I may not be able to get out and explore many other parts of the country, but I am feeling pretty enthusiastic about getting to know Barcelona for a few months. Another draw, I suppose is that I will be staying with that I know while I am there, someone that has been there for about 6 months or so. Someone that may or may not be my boyfriend. That is a whole different story complete with other stress and confusion. He really is part 1 of why I am going in the first place, part 2 being, why wouldn't I want to go to Barcelona?! Traveling never really seems like a bad idea, other than that I never have enough money for it. I've just never traveled with a rocky relationship on the brink of disaster or bliss. Just another element of surprise and anticipation to add to the mix! Oh, and I will be running a marathon, my first marathon, in Barcelona March 2. Between running a lot and managing the state of my love life (or not) this trip should be chalked full of opportunities for personal growth.

Did I mention that I don't speak Catalan, and I only speak Spanish in the present tense?

This should be just wonderful...



Advertisement



27th December 2008

Where are the cats?
Yup, this picture is pretty horrible, but a cute, cuddly cat in your arms would jazz it right up!
31st December 2008

ha
When is your super rad date for the christmas bash at united methodist showing up?

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb