Niagara - A trip to the World biggest waterfalls


Advertisement
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Niagara falls - The beauty of natureNiagara falls - The beauty of natureNiagara falls - The beauty of nature

The photo also shows small yellow color objects for the keen eyed observer. These are people wearing yellow color polythene sheets for waterproofing.
The day started lazily with me deciding to go touring the Niagara falls with my brother. We started at around 12 noon, stopping to get a quick bite at the krispy kreems shop and proceeded to the state of New york in northwest direction from Boston. Located at the western end of New york and bounded by Canada on the other side, Niagara is one of the most beautifl and natural splendor abounding with perennial water. Originally an indian settlement and later an industrial town, today Niagara is a beautiful wonder with tourists flocking fom all over the world. I reached the falls at about 7 pm in the evening. After a quick stroll through the Niagara park, I took the "Cave of the Wind" tour that promises to take to the base of the waterfall where I can see the power of the mighty waterfall and also get drenched. Having no clue as to what I am gonna see there, i went inside and got the special polythene cover dress to wrap myself with and a pair of chappals to wear. Armed with these, I descend 80 metres down the elevator to reach the bottom, from where I take a
Niagara behind me!Niagara behind me!Niagara behind me!

The photo shows Niagara at the back as seen from the observing deck.
walk along with the rest of the people - like pilgrims we walked forward pausing occasionally awed by the beauty of the falls. The thrilling moment was the 'hurricane deck' - the closest point at which one can watch the fall, standing directly below...but about 2 metres in front of the waterline. The water splashes down in massive strength sputtering water around that drenched me, disabling me from taking photos, for my cam might get wet and screwed up. It was a moment of joy experiencing the power of nature. Then I came back, changed myself to shorts as I was fully wet and headed to the Pizza shop to eat hot 'n' spicy mexican pizza with olives. Then we - myself, my brother, my sis-in-law and vishal headed right to the motel where we put up for the night. The next day morning we headed back to niagara and caught the "Maid of the Mist" boat tour that promised to take me close to the "horseshoe" waterfall at the far end of the Niagara. The boat ride was amazing and was great to be near the horseshoe waterfall with water splashing on our faces. It was a moment of
Beautiful sunsetBeautiful sunsetBeautiful sunset

The Canadian side of the Niagara at sunset.
elation mixed with the discomfort of getting wet which no-one minded. I took some cool pix and videos there. After coming back, We ate food and headed back for the journey back home to Boston.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Maid of the Mist boat tourMaid of the Mist boat tour
Maid of the Mist boat tour

Preparing for the mais of the mist boat tour.
Maid of the Mist boat tourMaid of the Mist boat tour
Maid of the Mist boat tour

Preparing for the mais of the mist boat tour.
Niagara National ParkNiagara National Park
Niagara National Park

The Niagara park - entrance with beautifully arranged plants


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb