Citi Field Spartan Race


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
April 16th 2016
Published: April 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

When the opportunity to run a Spartan Race crosses Derik and I's path we can't seem to help but say YES. Sure pretty much after every Spartan race we say "We are never doing that again" but if the opportunity presents itself we get suckered back in. It's like an abusive relationship, where I say never again but the race wins me over and I end up bloody and bruised. Dramatic much? Well it is two days after the race and the mere sight of stairs makes me sigh. Just walking to the printer means the vice grips that are currently in my hamstrings are going to tighten. But the question is, was it worth it?



Okay to be honest if I was paying $150 for any Spartan Race I don't think i would to it. But I have had the good fortune to pay pennies to torture myself so I have a bit of a bias. Going to Citi Field to run the race is definitely a unique experience, running hundreds upon hundreds of stairs not so much, but when you get to say you ran the Citi Field stairs it sounds a little bit cooler.... maybe? Anyway we had an afternoon run time, so we grabbed our packet and lined up intrigued by how they were going to do what I picture as a mud run with no mud!



Like I said, most of the race is on the stairs. Up and down, across and back zig zagging none stop until you were almost dizzy. And then when you thought you honestly couldn't do another flight of stairs because there literally couldn't be another set of stairs left in the stadium there was! Mixed in between all the stairs were "obstacles" if you will. No mud pits or barb wire crawls, fire and water were eliminated but we did have the typical spear throw, sand bag carry and even the cargo net which was on the outskirts of the field. There was also a mixture of other "obstacles". Pushups in the away locker room, box jumps and jump ropes next to concession stands and a water jug carry which seemed especially painful for myself!



It was cool to do the race there, the medal is kinda neat but I'm good, I don't have to do another Citi Field Race. It may be awhile before I see a set of stairs and don't groan!!



Since we were already out that way we decided to stop by the Flushing Meadows - Corona Park. In 1964/65 the International World Fair was held here and it is here that you can find the iconic 12- story high, stainless-steel model of the earth called the Unisphere. Although the fountain is no longer operational, the wold is MAGNIFICENT and worth a visit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb