LGA -> JFK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
March 12th 2015
Published: March 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The first picture is the welcome sign at LaGuardia Airport. The other picture is from the plane, and I think it’s somewhere over the Virginia coast. Now I’m sitting in the JFK lounge. It was a bit of a pain getting to the airport TOO early this time. The gate didn’t open until 6:30, so I had to wait an hour before I could check in. Everything else has been spectacular.

My flight from ATL to LGA went off without a hitch. I was able to read 3 chapters of my next (and final) book for my TCU course. The ride was smooth overall, and it lasted shorter than I expected. All good things.

Once I got to LGA, the way to the baggage claim was clearly marked and close to my arrival gate. I had arranged for a bus called the NYC Airporter to take me from there to JFK, and it was literally right outside the door. If I had been 4 minutes later, I would’ve had to wait 30 minutes for the next departure. Now that I know what I do about the JFK gate opening time, that may not have been such a bad thing. But I always like to have more time at the airport than I need, instead of the opposite. The cross-town ride was fine with me – the traffic looked horrible, but I was glad I didn’t have to fight through it, and that I had plenty of time.



JFK has been a fun time. This is only my 2nd time here (I think), and the 1st time was very rushed and unpleasant overall. I got to spend some time above the security lines – really, there’s a top floor with restaurants that overlooks the security line. I was hungry when I got here, so I went to that floor. My choices were something Asian, Sbarro, $3/donut at Dunkin Donuts, or McDonald’s. So I chose the last of those, which I think is entirely appropriate for my final meal in America. Since then, I’ve seen the Islamic prayer room, chugged an entire liter of water before going through security, watched a lady pick up her dog and go through the security checkpoint and screener with it, enjoyed the sunset, and found my gate, where I shall sit happily until boarding begins at 10PM.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb