EM and NYC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
November 13th 2010
Published: November 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Most business trips are not worth blogging about but Em thought New York City must be.... Although the jetlag and all day meetings in a windowless room are really tiring, I totally love it. The little non working time I have, I spend just walking around and getting lost. I am staying in Midtown and very surprised that most attractions are in walking distance. However, considering that I am now very exhausted after walking from midtown all the way to Brooklyn and back, maybe I should have taken a cab or the subway. Anyway, I did take a cab yesterday and it’s not easy to flag one down, it took a good 20 minutes until somebody stopped...

Friday evening I managed to pop into MoMa after work and it was worth it especially as it is for free Friday evening - a lot of fantastic paintings and my favourite was Frida and the mirror. I haven't done any shopping yet as I mainly was admiring the architecture. Yesterday, I made it to Macys and Time Square but I prefer Downtown. Being here on my own, it means I also have to eat on my own. I am quite good at having breakfast and lunches on my own but having dinner always feels weird. So I asked my sis, who was living in NY for a while 'Where can a lady go for dinner on her own and not feel uncomfortable?'. Her answer, although very true but rather unhelpful was ' as far as I can remember a WOMAN can dine on her own everywhere...’. So, I decided to follow her advice and had dinner downtown on my own. Now, it’s time for a last walk and then back to London.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



15th November 2010

WOW
Wow Michi!! It seems you had a wonderful time between the meetings, except maybe for the unconfortable dinner alone (?)! I wished to be in NY again some time in the near future......GREAT CITY...Remember when we met there with Irmi and went to the CBGB at night. Dream came true for us the little hard rock groupie wannabes ;-)!!...

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb