Blue Dot Moving


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
August 9th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

IPhone GPS is a wonderful thing - If I'm ever confused, I just update the map and there I am -- the blue dot moving. Over the past week, this blue dot has moved around midtown and lower Manhattan. I did some shopping on 5th Avenue and bought some new shoes. I drank iced tea in Central Park and took a class at the Apple Store. Then, I gave directions to someone lost in the subway, not knowing what train she was supposed to take from Manhattan to Prospect Park. Lucky for her, the Q train had just arrived so she was on her way.

I went to Ground Zero. This was my first time back there since April of 2002 - clearly things have changed. There is no longer a hand-crafted look-out tier so you can see into the space, rather it is all fenced off and you can see the construction live via webcam 24/7. They are working on the 9-11 memorial and mall/MTA/transit space, which was designed by Santiago Calatrava, who also designed the Milwaukee Art Museum. It wasn't so sad to be at the site, but that's probably because you can't really tell what is going on or what it is. Last time I was there, there were still all of the signs up posted by family and friends looking for loved ones. There is a temporary museum set up where you can purchase books, DVDs, NYPD stickers and postcards of the World Trade Center. The proceeds go to the memorial and upkeep.

I had the TV on the other morning and was watching TODAY with Kathie Lee and Hoda. They had a local chef on and he was talking about his restaurant and the lobster rolls that his restaurant is known for. This looked so tasty, I had to seek it out and try this food for myself. Jeannie joined me on a quest through the East Village to Luke's Lobster, a tiny restaurant that seats maybe nine people on stools. They also had quite a few people using the take-out option. Actually, on the wall is posted the three options with different serving/packaging methods: To Stay, To Walk or To Go. We used the "To Stay" and waited a short while for a seat at the window. This place was packed - apparently everyone saw Luke on TV and had the same idea
Yum! Yum! Yum!

A must-visit: Luke's Lobster in the East Village
as I did. Now, a few weeks ago, I paid $20 for a cheeseburger -- but at Luke's Lobster, you can get a lobster roll, chips and drink for $16! Jeannie and I opted to try mini-rolls - so we each had a lobster roll, crab roll and shrimp roll..... Amazing! The bread melts in your mouth and the seafood is so fresh (all seafood is flown in daily from Maine) and tasty... I have to say, hands down - this comes in now as one of my top two favorite restaurants/meals EVER in NYC. It ranks right up there with the Mashed Potatoes and Virgil's BBQ in Times Square.

In our journey through the East Village, I saw a dog lounging on the sidewalk while it's "parents" were having lunch. When the dog turned, I noticed it was an Ori-pei, just like Olive. So, of course this started a 45 minute discussion about our dogs and how wonderful they are. They had rescued their dog, he was left wandering in a park. Further in our journey, we passed a man holding a cardboard sign that read "I'm keepin' it real - I need money for weed."

I continue to learn more about art - some I've seen, some is new. It's been great having someone to talk about it with and debate ideas that ultimately shape the message (obvious or implied) within the work. New York continues to suprise me and I'm sad to be leaving in a week. I've had such a great time - and although this stay is coming to an end, I know the most important experiences and connections I've made aren't. Jeannie tells me that I've had a "true NY experience" - and perhaps I have and will continue to...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb