It's the little things


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Brooklyn
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's the little things that continue to suprise me wherever I go around NYC. Be it the dinner I order that comes delivered on bicycle, or the other dinner in union square where I'm left with "get home safe" wishes from the staff at the restaurant... The two dollars I find on the ground while taking Olive for a walk, or the then complete stranger that talks about art and directs me to other things and artists I might not otherwise know about. Then, in the midst of the time spent shopping and site seeing - - there it is, the great deal! I ventured into midtown to go to Macy's - low and behold, I left saving more than I spent.

No matter what, this city has chosen to smile back at me and continues to throw a great party with a remarkable goodie bag. I hope it all fits in the art moblie - at least for now, the front seat is still not reserved. Offers are out though... Starbucks? 😉 😉

The heat has subsided a bit - - well, at least the humidity is down. Olive is enjoying the backyard in all of its jungle-like qualities. Someone needs to come and cut down the grass and weeds, they're starting to tower over her when she's back there. Nonetheless, she can still see the neighbors playing in the pool, or the twin two year old boys a couple houses down that bark at her. She likes laying on the porch and relaxing in the sun - at least until its time for me to go out somewhere.

Last week, I ventured up to the Upper West Side... and got off the subway at 72nd and Broadway, thankfully when I emerged from the underground I still knew where I was. I went on a quest to find the Shop Around the Corner... it's not at 68th and Amsterdam like they claim in the movie. But I did find it - - it's closed and was never really called the Shop Around the Corner - lots of work permits are posted in the windows... I wonder what they're doing. Maybe Cathleen Kelly is going to come back and sell children's books again?

Today, I went to the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens. I went first thing this morning since I had to move the art mobile for street
The Shop Around the CornerThe Shop Around the CornerThe Shop Around the Corner

...from "You've Got Mail"
cleaning. It was a great morning to go since the humidity is down. I don't quite understand why kids scream when they are purposely standing under the sprinkler and start getting wet - - that was annoying, but I moved along the path and kept on. My camera and eyes got a work out today, that's for sure. I don't know the names of most of the flowers I found - but there was a pleothra of bees, many of which I was able to capture on camera. Maybe they are used to it and like the attention?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



31st July 2010

NICE JOB!!!
Hi Sweetie, Beautifully written. Great pictures. You are something else!!! I'm going to send this on to Sandy and others to read. What a talented little thing you are!!!!!!!!! Love you, Dad

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb