Arrival in New York City!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
September 21st 2009
Published: September 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a sleepless night, on the flight from LAX to JFK, I landed at about 0715. I've always hated aisle seats. Not just because of the other two passengers requiring me to move so they go can to the bathroom, but also because there's no real area to rest my head. Added to that, I was at the very rear of the aircraft. This meant being about the last person off. At least this meant not having to wait too long at baggage reclaim!

Just under an hour into Manhattan, via AirTrain and the NYC Subway, I arrived at World Trade Center subway station. With a short work to the PATH station, I then discovered that the ticket vending machine would not accept my foreign issued Visa card. A quick trip to a cash machine settled that one, and I headed for the hotel, near Newark Liberty International Airport, in New Jersey.

After napping a few hours, I went back into Manhattan to have which turned out to be a very late dinner with a friend. I occupied myself watching Fox News Channel outside the News Corporation building, on 6th Avenue, for a few hours.

Dinner was at a restaurant called Saigon Grill, on University Place. Great food. Will definitely have to go back again!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb