Macy Gray


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
December 15th 2007
Published: December 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Another day of shopping planned for today, starting with Macy's. As expected, it was a bit of a scrum, and my mood wasn't helped because I don't have the money or space in my bag to buy as much stuff for myself as I would have liked. Alex's friends Tom and Cheryl have also flown out, so Tom, Rupert and I wandered round the mens' section trying in vain to find something that didn't make us look like a poor man's Vanilla Ice. The girls had a bit more success then we went for lunch where Alex had a sandwich disguised as a chocolate cake and I got ketchup all down myself, prompting a trip to H&M to pick up a new jumper and hoodie to wear that evening.

From midtown, we ventured back down to Soho to check out some of the shops we didn't get a chance to look at yesterday, then we walked up to fine Urban Outfitters at Alex's request. By this point though we were all shopped out so didn't stay long.

In the evening, Gary and Mel had booked for us to go to a BBQ type restaurant where they have live bluegrass bands on. Unfortunately, there was no music on but I still had more than my fair share of meat, I think it weighed about 2 pounds or something ridiculous. To get our music fix, we went on to the Rodeo bar in Chelsea where a bluesy country band were playing, who were OK, but nothing special.

By the time we left the bar it had started to snow and luckily Alex talked me out of walking back to the hostel as I probably would have gotten hypothermia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb