World Trade Center, the subway and Staten Island.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I heart NY. I officially do, but before I continue typing this record of my fantastic day, I must go and clip my nails as they are really really REALLY doing my head in.

all done :], anyway where was I..
So, I woke up around 7.30 ish, cause I really cant sleep through loud noises, and the room mates were leaving so y'know. But I fell back to sleep and then actually woke up around 10.30.
I jumped in the lovely shower, only to... 6 hours later become a big bunch of sweat.

I walked down to 23rd Street subway station and got on the E train, downtown to Brooklyn, but I got off at World Trade Center (sorry for the american spelling of it but Im in the country and thats how its spelt over here so, deal with it)
Anyway, So I got off and walked up to the WTC exit sign.
Now, I didnt really know what to expect here, because when I asked Vicci about it, she said she couldnt explain the feeling it gave her, she only said you had to just experience it yourself. Which is just what I did.
Not blaming any body here, or being a conspiracy freak (which I am) but I didnt feel any anger or anything like that towards the supposed 'terrorists' (we all know who the real terrorists are), I just felt. Sorrow? Remorse? or maybe just nothingness. If that ever was a feeling.
Just looking through the high steel fences, enclosing a work force of upto 1000 men and women, sweating below, building, digging, hammering, to create the memorial tower, made me feel nothing but respect.
I looked up to the sky and the big empty gap in the skyline where two towers should be, two towers housing offices, people, parents, children, and partners.
Its awful to think, that a certain number of years ago , such an event happened.
It really did give me the creeps.
Fair enough if the conspiracy theories are right, no body deserved to get killed.

What really annoyed me, was to see people making money off this. A few guys were walking around selling WTC postcards, and booklets, using such an awful event to make a couple of dollars to go buy crack or whatever.
As you can tell, this part of the day really did get on my nerves!

But anyway, i stopped off at a small Deli next to ground zero, and had the most disgusting vegetarian sandwich on rye bread, ever.
I walked down to the staten island ferry terminal, and read a few chapters of 'choke'. I got on the ferry and totally forgot Im the worst sea sick'er ever.
Shoooot.
So I just sat there and listened to avril lavigne until this old guy opposite me said something.
'Youre not from New York are you?'
'Nope.. how can you tell?'
'You look like a tourist'
'haha, how do I look like a tourist?'
'Shorts, Tshirt and a camera'
His name was Joe, pretty old, about 60ish, he lived on Staten island since he was 16, but worked over in manhattan, he was really nice and came to show new yorkers arent just american versions of the arrogant parisians.

I got off at staten island and walked up some huge hill, and stopped off at a little diner for food, clearly this wasnt for tourists hha, I felt so out of place but it was nice. And I just read. Alot.
On the way back, I sat outside at the S.I terminal and read more of choke, until I decided to get the ferry back.

I got back on the 1 train to uptown/ the bronx, got off here and came to update the world on my travels.

I think Ill go see a film later and then eat after it.

tomorrow, central park, museum maybe> maybe not, and bloomingdale$$$.

love from a sweaty dorm in manhattan.

x
p.s
the dorm is mine again, the next person to barge in late at night will get a big fat salfordian ' DO ONE'






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



21st June 2007

STRANGERS!!
Speaking to strangers!! did old Joe offer you any fruit!! Nick says go for it!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb