T-Minus


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York
June 6th 2005
Published: June 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Last American Post. It's 4:30 am on the day I leave and I'm packing and repacking and rerepacking. It's madness. I'm wired and exhausted like the tail end of a guarana pill. Crap! I can hear birds chirping. And Polish Hip Hop. I'm not sure which distresses me more.

Today Howie and I were maxin out in the pool and the Sam, the family German Shepard, took off after a chipmunk and bagged it. He climbed out of the pool and slid it on to a shovel and tossed it over the fence. He chuckled and said, "He's not coming back. And if he does, I'm outta here."

I have been looking at my reflection way too much these last few days. I'm listening to the sound of my voice, feeling the rate of my breath, the pace of my walk. I'm watching the shadow I cast. I'm obsessing big time. For once, it's not because of narcissism, but because I feel like this is my last chance to remember myself as I was.

I nominate the preceding paragraph as the one most likely to embarass me when I look back at it after the trip.

The Euros are already taking action in anticipation of my arrival. Does anyone know what the significance of the French and the Dutch rejecting the EU constitution is? I feel a little wrong-footed walking into such a big change in their political climate. However, it's coincided with (or caused) an 8% depreciation in the Euro against the dollar in the last week, so I cannot say I am too upset.

It's just a long vacation. Love you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My beautiful handsMy beautiful hands
My beautiful hands

What will become of them in the harsh climes of Europe?


2nd February 2006

lol this is dumb

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb