My Journey to Queens


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Queens
March 24th 2008
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The RulesThe RulesThe Rules

5 Pointz
Its spring for some of the lucky kidlets in this hemisphere, I don't believe the 8+ million inhabitants of NYC have gotten the memo. I haven't received my myspace bulletin either. Either way its sunny so I'm going out on journey to the faraway land known as QUEENS. Yes its on the same island as Brooklyn but it's still far! (I'm from Brooklyn if you haven't gotten it). You've got to walk to the train, wait for it(it's the weekend people) and who know when one will arrive. Once on the train you hope that nothing happens to delay transport to your destination. I'm still en route with the usual suspects, at least three different languages being spoken within earshot.. Another three that have the yet to speak due to the fact they are alone...some conversations louder than others, usually the more 'interesting', minus the yuppies and wanna-be hipsters you find raising rent and cost of living in the King of all boroughs. And then the delay. Everyone on the train is pretending they don't smell the pewtred odor coming from the platform as we sit here with all the doors open. There is the interesting group that made it a point to reminisce on past odor experiences..forward movement has begun, note to self: 26 minutes into my trip. Arrived at my destination in 37 minutes, not bad.

So i spent any hour at my destination, mostly due to the fact that i didn't check battery life and they went low and subsequently died while i tried to get a few extra shots in. Now I'm back on the train waiting for it to move. some really great work there. Oh i didn't say.. I went to 5 pointz in Queens. Pretty great place where you can put some of your work up temporarily and have people from all over view it, of course you need a permit to add your work. Its continually changing so good to check it out more than once and Moma's PS 1 is right down the block so you can get two things in one trip to Queens if you are a tourist or short term resident in the NYC area. I am now hungry and the train is almost full but were waiting for the train on other platform to arrive before we can leave. again, its the weekend. and there she is! 😊 ten minutes after sitting on train we are now moving.

After trying to load my photos on my laptop I realized that the card wasn't reading... come to find out my cameras (2) don't recognize HC SD cards and I can only use up to 2 GB.. yeah not cool so I went back to J&R where I bought 2, 2gb cards after getting the photos off the card the old fashion way, dragging them off. The two new cards needed to be reformatted, I guess for my OLD SCHOOL 2006 cameras. Is technology really moving that quickly? I guess but now I have 5 gb worth of memory cards, depending on quality and video I should get a couple thousand photos which will hold me over while I am away. 😊

It's Easter and my wine is getting warm.. have a great evening everyone.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Another ViewAnother View
Another View

5 Pointz


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb